The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


When Algorithms – Or Media Planning – Goes Mad …
June 18, 2014, 6:10 am
Filed under: Comment, Crap Campaigns In History

So I recently watched the latest series from the wonderful journalist, Louis Theroux.

If you don’t know who he is, you don’t know what you’re missing … though I have to say I prefer his Weird Weekend documentaries compared to the new and mature version of himself.

Anyway, one of the programs was on US sex offenders and he mentioned there was an app that listed all the people that appeared on the sex offender register.

Because I was interested – not scared, I would appear on it thank-you-very-much – I tried to download the app and when I found it, I saw this …

Now maybe I’m wrong, but I don’t know many brands – especially luxury brands – who would voluntarily like to be associated with one of the worst groups in society.

That said, maybe it was not an unfortunate accident … maybe someone actively placed LV in the app because they uncovered the insight, ‘When a rich sex offender is discovered, they need help to get out of the country in style’.

I know … I know … that’s sick and horrible. Sorry. I actually feel bad about saying that but not as bad as I’d feel if I worked on LV and they suddenly discovered where their highly curated brand was appearing.

19 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Just remember commenters, Rob is going to be a dad.

Comment by Billy Whizz

dont fucking remind me, its the scariest thing ive ever heard and where campbell is concerned, that bastard has given me enough shit myself moments to last me a fucking lifetime.

Comment by andy@cynic

If he starts a dad blog, I will kill myself.

Comment by DH

So will I Dave. So will I.

Comment by Rob

louis was better when he was a socially awkward need with shit hair.

Comment by andy@cynic

Weird Weekends was better than his expose of normal life.

Comment by DH

Yep. But he’s still awesome.

Comment by Rob

dont use that app when youre near doddsy or billy. it would be awkward.

Comment by andy@cynic

Bad taste gold.

Comment by DH

Fucker.

Comment by Billy Whizz

i always said louis vuitton was for sick fucks.

Comment by andy@cynic

Is the app icon picture really showing a red faced man looking like he’s embarrassed about something?

Comment by DH

He could be flushed from wanking himself off.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Red card.

Comment by Pete

Jesus … that’s taking this to a whole new level.

Down.

Comment by Rob

Thanks.

Comment by Billy Whizz

That ad was served by iAd.

http://advertising.apple.com

Over to you Baz.

Comment by Pete

It’s all going wrong for you isn’t it Baz. Bet facebook doesn’t look as bad as you first thought.

Comment by DH

[…] Quotas ┬áneeded to be met. Kpi’s were based on delivery of impressions not impact. The consequence was crap – one of the labels that Campbell uses to describe the media strategy developed for Vuitton in his original post on ‘media algorithms gone mad’ – viewable here – http://robcampbell.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/when-algorithms-or-media-planning-goes-mad/ […]

Pingback by What’s ultimately in distress. Media. | patrickdsouza.me




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,356 other followers

