The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Everything You Do Says Something About You …
March 6, 2012, 6:13 am
Filed under: Comment

For some reason, I get asked to write quite a few references for people.

And I’m happy to do that.

But I find references pretty mad, because at the end of the day, who the fuck is going to put forward someone who will write a negative point-of-view on them?

OK, so you can say that a reference allows people to hear how someone else judges their character – and that has merit – but if you’re going to base your decision on hiring someone on whether their mates gave a glowing report on them, then you only have yourself to blame if they turn out to be nut cases.

That said, I try and write honest references, especially when I’ve not worked with the person for 10 years or so.

That doesn’t mean I’m going to be nasty, but neither am I going to give a glowing endorsement to someone I last worked with before electricity was invented.

One thing I find amazing is how easily people are willing to sacrifice their reputation.

OK, I know this might sound mad coming from a person who has written blog posts about his calculator and best friends appendage, but where work is concerned, I take things pretty seriously.

I know that must come as a shock to you [and probably to my colleagues] but the longer I’m in adland, the smaller I find it gets which is why one bad move could easily result in the wider industry calling your abilities and cred into question.

OK, so the fact I’m still in a job despite all manner of shit that I’ve pulled in the past means it might not be as black and white as I am implying – but the fact is, if you want to end up being paid for who you are and what you believe as opposed to simply ‘filling a vacancy’, it’s worth making sure the things you say can be backed up because in this back-biting, bitch-ridden industry, it’s very easy for things to come back and bite you on the ass, especially if it involves you recommending someone for a job which is completely inappropriate for them.

Of course there is an alternative for career progression.

You could simply decide to keep quiet, do nothing exceptional except creep regularly to your boss and talk in glowing terms about the company and the senior management because that seems to be a strategy that works very well in big corporations, even if it means you can never look at yourself in the mirror again.


28 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good advice, even if it is a bit weird coming from this blog. But the last few months have been filled with great and informative posts so maybe it’s not so strange after all.

Love the “get hired for you, not to fill a vacancy” comment. The holy grail of employment. Similar to your BBH and W+K post, fame can be fleeting, reputation is for ever.

Comment by Pete

God Pete, when even you slag me off I know I’m in trouble.

Comment by Rob

No Pete, the holy grail is not needing references, especially from a man who writes about his friends cock. Just keeping it real.

Comment by DH

well fucking said dave.

Comment by andy@cynic

Sadly I agree.

Comment by Rob

The last paragraph said it all. And it’s quite good. Could have just stuck to that, but no, overwriting as usual.

Comment by DH

Sorry. I don’t understand. Why would anyone ask Rob for a reference?

Comment by Billy Whizz

People are strange Billy.

Comment by DH

yes they fucking are. like dan wieden, who hired him despite all the info on him. and what he liked about him was all me anyway. talk about ripped fucking off and i mean him and me.

Comment by andy@cynic

Unless it’s to be inducted into the queen fan club.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Or birkenstock.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Or overpriced, pointless gadgets appreciation society.

Current membership. 1.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I think it’s more than just 1 person. Basically it includes any middle aged man going through his (and it’s always a male) midlife crisis.

Comment by DH

I meant the queen and birkenstock division of the overpriced, pointless gadgets fan club.

Definitely only 1 then.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I stand corrected.

Comment by DH

fuck me campbell. you talking about reputation management is like hitler talking about compassion and fucking patience. you make george best look stable. the advice is fair enough, the last paragraph might be mildly afuckingmusing, but coming from you is just wrong, wrong, fucking wrong.

Comment by andy@cynic

I know … but that hasn’t stopped bad role model politicians telling the masses how to live so I’m simply following in their footsteps.

Comment by Rob

youd make a good politician because we already hate you.

Comment by andy@cynic

that xray is of you isnt it? fucking pervert.

Comment by andy@cynic

I was young and needed the money.

Comment by Rob

Andy – Isn’t one of W+K’s mottos ‘walk in stupid’?

That could explain a lot😉

Comment by Rob Mortimer

theyll be changing it to walk out quick if they know whats fucking good for them.

Comment by andy@cynic

The world of recruitment is strange and flawed. Kind of like capitalism, it has tonnes of problems but no one has yet invented anything better…

I think you live the idea of being hired for you, not to fill a job. Which is always good.

Comment by Rob Mortimer

I wonder what Sam Ismael is doing now

Comment by northern

hiding with rushdie and lucan. or applying for a job at mi6 after campbell had a planner orgasm over that fucking ad a few weeks back.

Comment by andy@cynic

I’d love to see what a reference from Andy looks like

Comment by northern

that can be easily fucking arranged.

Comment by andy@cynic

I think that would depend very much on what job you were applying for!

Comment by Rob Mortimer




Leave a Reply

