The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


10 Minutes That Will Help You Remember How Lucky We Are …
March 15, 2012, 6:10 am
Filed under: Comment

I’ve written a lot about embracing life rather than chasing a lifestyle.

I’ve written a lot about the importance of love, friendship, support and loyalty.

I’ve written a lot about the importance of talking about death rather than hiding from it.

I’ve written a lot about the dangers of regret.

I’ve written a lot about treasuring the moments that really matter.

Even though it’s beautifully tragic, this does it better than anything I could ever say.



33 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Andy, leave this one to fuck alone, OK?

Comment by Ciaran McCabe

You mean I should leave it alone because I’m the stand in Andy while he is on daddy duty. Don’t worry I will, I don’t want to go anywhere near it again.

Comment by Billy Whizz

But the fake andy@cynic should listen to your advice Ciaran and if he doesn’t, smash him. He’s definitely fake. He might sound like Mr dad but he hasn’t got the same flair for the word fuck. Impressive though. I’m jealous. I mean fucking jealous.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Shut the fuck up Billy, McCabe has a fucking point, I’m while I’m at it the only fucking stand in you’ll ever to fucking selected for is fucking Tinky Winky

Comment by andy@cynic

I know you love documentaries and misery Rob. I know there is some positive message in there somewhere buy that was fucking depressing.

It’s also how I imagine Nottingham to be.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I’ve just written a comment about treading carefully then I see this. I’m ashamed to say I laughed (especially the Nottingham reference) but have convinced myself your comment was less about the content of the film and more about the mood. Please don’t correct me.

Comment by Pete

Wow, that’s a powerful 10 minutes.

Beautifully tragic is a great description, and yet as you said, an amazing testimony to living life and embracing life fully.

I’m with Ciaran, everyone who comments here should tread carefully and that includes the fake Andy.

Comment by Pete

sadly the reality of your post is that people will remember for 10 minute how lucky they are and then move to..

Comment by niko

If we lived with 10% of the optimism Ed has, imagine what we would be capable of doing.

Comment by DH

Apologies for the serious comment, this post caught me off guard.

Comment by DH

like Pete said.. tread carefully Dave

Comment by niko

Yep.

Comment by Rob

and on a more serious note.. why do people always associate being optimistic to achieve shit…

fuck me the whole of the usa is overdosing on self delusional positive thinking and they don’t seem to do any fucking better for it..

just as there are stupid questions, and collaboration does not always lead to better results, top down hierarchy is not a thing of the past, and advertising is still about selling and not being liked..

I know what you are saying Rob, and you have a point, and yes this video works because the guy is dying and not faking shit, but for every him there is a shit load who don’t try to figure out what works for them and just follow the fucking trends and end up failing (be it in work or in life)..

Comment by niko

Because we’re attracted to people with dark pasts or bright futures?

Japan and other Scandinavian countries are very suicidal despite their high levels of individual welfare etc. Whereas in the US they have a low suicide rate but probably the highest rate of insanity or mental illnesses on the planet.

I’d write something more cheerful but I can’t given the video and for obvious reasons (that Niko & a few others might know) – agree with the man though, it’s not about how long you have left but what you make of it. And Rob’s post about not living with regret in that little time you have left and after.

Comment by Andrea

my point exactly.. at the end of your life you should be proud of what you’ve done, not just happy to have lived it..

and please don’t go hippie happy on me.. dark pasts and allđŸ˜‰

Comment by niko

Good point Niko. Ironically, I didn’t post this because of optimism … nor did I post it because optimism leads to action … I posted it simply because I think it’s important to embrace what you have in front of your face rather than always look further down the road.

Something too few people do until it’s too late.

Comment by Rob

People are hardwired to have an optimism bias, which mean we’re all doomed to be disappointed

Comment by Northern

Powerful film. Great post.

If more planners talked about life rather than brand theory, they might find their approaches would be more successful.

A silly comment perhaps, but it works for me.

Comment by Lee Hill

No, that’s an excellent comment Lee. So true.

Comment by fredrik sarnblad

Inspiring.

Comment by Debbie Jones

This is excellent.
My morning tea tastes a little better
Thankyou

Comment by Northern

That makes me feel so much better because I used to feel bad I continually disappointed my colleagues … but now I know it’s just a natural part of human make-up, I feel good again.

Comment by Rob

Whereas my colleagues always cease to amaze me

Comment by Northern

You forgot to write that comment pretending to be Andy, because that’s sheer evil bastard genius.

Comment by Rob

What are you insinuating?

Comment by Northern

He’s insinuating that Andy doesn’t omit words from his post whereas his impersonator does.

Comment by John

Well done Dodds, as opaque as ever

Comment by Northern

You expect nothing less.

Comment by John

And get nothing more.

Comment by John

As for the subject of this post, assertions such as “you should be grateful for what you have” or “you don’t know how lucky you are” may be both valid and a warning against self-pity, but they can also be self-righteous. Yes, there are starving millions in the world but their existence doesn’t minimise another individual’s genuine frustration, misery or suffering.

Comment by John

Certainly not mine when it’s time for another meeting with Mindshare

Comment by Northern

Fair point John but it could be argued that some people call it self righteousness so they can hide behind their insecurities or guilt. Northern’s comment on the other hand is unquestionably accurate.

Comment by Pete

As for Media Arts……..

Comment by Northern




Leave a Reply

