The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Proof My Next Job Won’t Be The New Michael Parkinson …
April 11, 2012, 6:15 am
Filed under: Comment

So last year I spoke at a conference called Circus in Oz.

While I was there, they asked me to “interview” my mate Justin from Google.

It’s always weird when you see a video of how you are/how you present because – at least in my case – you spend the first few views critiquing or criticising everything you do and this was no exception.

Why do I ramble?
Why do I keep making funny facial expressions?
Why do I find it hard to stick to the point I’m trying to make?
Why do I keep drinking coffee?
Why do I swear?

Maybe that’s why the people behind the clip decided to end it so abruptly – which is a shame – because if they’d simply edited me out, you’d of got to hear some awesome stuff from one of the cleverest – and nicest – people I know.

But that aside, the point of this post is it’s important to rehearse.

I know some people think – or say – rehearsing ‘stifles’ their energy, but that’s bollocks because it’s only when you see the reality of your performance that you realise you’re not as slick – or as funny – as you thought/hoped you were.

Rehearsing is important.

It doesn’t mean you’ll end up sounding like some emotionless robot, it means that you know:

1. The flow of your presentation.
2. The key point you’re trying to make on every slide.

3. How to piece everything together like one clear, concise & interesting story.

Being able to do things ‘off the cuff’ is handy, but you shouldn’t con yourself into thinking this is the right way to approach everything, because in a World where first impressions count, the difference between success and failure can sometimes come down to whether you have been able to spend an hour or so making sure you know specifically what you need to convey and the best way to convey it.


44 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I thought we’d established that the one on the right is meant to keep his mouth shut.

Comment by John

Interesting you’ve decided to grace us with your presence now the topic has got back to insulting me. You make me feel so special …

Comment by Rob

But that’s sequels for you.

Comment by John

zeroinfluencer will be pleased, youve just trumped him on the “look shit on video” stakes.

Comment by andy@cynic

I’m an equal opportunity character assassin.

Comment by Rob

It won’t go viral.
You need 3 people on a sofa, not 2, not 1. 3.

Did we not learn anything yesterday?

Comment by zeroinfluencer

Now that’s insight!

Comment by Rob

was there any fucking coffee in that cup? i know you have an asbestos fucking gob but even you arent that fucking casual chucking boiling hot liquid down your evil little throat.

Comment by andy@cynic

same shit clothes as usual.

Comment by andy@cynic

and you take 5 hours to get to the fucking point you want to make. like on this fucking blog.

Comment by andy@cynic

and your “wife” comment is pure fucking les dawson. not in a good way, but in a 1976 way. i hope jill karate chops you in the fucking windpipe.

Comment by andy@cynic

You’ve got a great face for radio.

Comment by DH

and a voice for silent fucking movies.

Comment by andy@cynic

justin couldnt look more fucking uncomfortable if he was having dinner with jeffery fucking dahmer.

Comment by andy@cynic

jeffery fucking dahmer would put him out of his misery more fucking quickly. .

Comment by andy@cynic

I’ve just worked out why Rob has so much money. He never spends any on clothes. How old is that shirt? 20 years? Richest tramp on earth.

Comment by Billy Whizz

he was born with it.

Comment by andy@cynic

The only reason you mumble, ramble and drink coffee is because you want the camera to stay on you, not Jason, because you’re a fame whore.

Comment by DH

I know I’ll sound boring and predictable but the point of this post is a really good one.

Rehearsal makes the difference for the 3 points you’ve stated.

Comment by Pete

And I didn’t mind that clip, it reminded me of when we worked together.

Comment by Pete

I could not agree more with you more Pete.

That clip is just like having a meeting with Robert. I am unsure as to why, but I quite enjoyed them at the time.

Comment by Lee Hill

i dont fucking understand why because every meeting with him would cost you a free fucking flight to somewhere.

Comment by andy@cynic

fucking boring and fucking predictable.

Comment by andy@cynic

Pete’s comment on meetings with Rob?

Comment by John

or not on obviously.

Comment by John

I prefer solid and dependable.

Comment by Pete

you might be a planner but you cant reposition the fucking truth.

Comment by andy@cynic

What is this “pushing the envelope forward”

Comment by John

more like taking that envelope and giving yourself paper cuts to the wrist and slowly dying.

Comment by andy@cynic

It’s all too intellectual for me.

Comment by John

youre the fucking friend to the fucking intellectual wannabe video stars so stop trying to position yourself as mr mondeo man. it didnt work with the police and it wont fucking work with me.

Comment by andy@cynic

Some people view not rehearsing as a badge of honor. It’s not, it’s a sign of insanity. Good post Rob.

Comment by Bazza

You are driven by hate?

Rupert I presume. Insightful chap.

Comment by George

Sofas, it would appear, are popular at the moment.

Comment by Marcus

Yep … and judging by how they make you appear a fuckwit, I’m of the assumption they’re an evil weapon designed by the CIA.

Comment by Rob

worst way of doing an interview.

Comment by Marcus

Especially if it features me.

Comment by Rob

2 planners. 1 couch.

Comment by John

every sofa needs its Dodds.

Comment by Marcus

not if youre a hot 18 year old.

Comment by andy@cynic

or a hot fucking babe.

Comment by andy@cynic

oh, hello Boucher. This post is a bit fucking lame isn’t it?

Remember when the Internet was about sausages?

Comment by Marcus

the world went downfuckinghill the moment we stopped praising the banger. and they call it evolution, dont make me fucking laugh.

Comment by andy@cynic

My, you really do only have one outfit don’t you?

Comment by northern




Leave a Reply

