The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Bad Taste Is In The Eye Of The Receiver …
May 14, 2012, 6:11 am
Filed under: Comment

OK, so the tone, timing and manner of the letter has a lot to be desired, but in terms of seeing and seizing an opportunity, the person behind this letter can’t be faulted.

The reason I say this is because I feel too many in adland wait for opportunities to fall on their lap rather than go out and chase it down.

Of course there’s a fine line between being proactive and being hard-sell … but the point I’m trying to make is that the early mover often gets the opportunity and while that shouldn’t mean you sacrifice quality for speed, it also shouldn’t mean you sit back with the attitude that you only do stuff when you’re approached to do stuff.

Enthusiasm – especially in Asia – is often a major competitive advantage.

Don’t snub it, embrace it … but remember to be more respectful than the guy above.


27 Comments so far
Leave a comment

If the technical manager gig doesn’t work out, there’s always Fox news.

Comment by DH

It’s not real is it? Even Billy couldn’t be that insensitive. I think.

Comment by DH

Yes I can.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I got told it’s real … but then I got told that if you work hard, you’ll prosper and I’ve proved that’s a load of rubbish.

Comment by Rob

Of ourse it’s not real. A true opportunist wouldn’t have waited till after the funeral.

Comment by John

A true opportunist would have killed the technical manager.

Comment by DH

a true opportunist would be in government or banking, not fucking technical management.

Comment by andy@cynic

That’s a very serious response Andy. You well?

Comment by Rob

no. if i was i wouldnt be on this shithole would i.

Comment by andy@cynic

Give a man a gun, he’ll rob a bank. Give a man a bank, he’ll rob everyone

Comment by Andrea

If Asia finds enthusiasm a competitive advantage, how do you survive?

Comment by Billy Whizz

He doesn’t do any work, remember?

Comment by DH

I hope that letter is real because it means the reply letter from the employer would be even more dynamite. What an insensitive fool.

That aside, the ‘reach out and grab it’ message of the post is an important one. I may be wrong, but it appears ad agencies are teaching their people across all departments to be reactive, meaning the only time they are encouraged to think ahead is at pitch time.

I remember how we would continually visit clients with new ideas we had to help their business. I wonder how many agencies (including start ups) could say the same.

Comment by Pete

I don’t know why my above comment has appeared here.

Comment by Pete

You just want to be closer to me Pete.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I don’t know why any comments appear on this blog.

Comment by John

because thats what the samaritans told you to do to feel like you had some friends. sick bastards those fucking samaritans.

Comment by andy@cynic

A true opportunist would have offer said technical manager.
All feels a bit partridge and Tony hayers I do hope the letter writer went to the funeral in a castrol jacket

Comment by Northern

That should have said ‘offed’ fucking predictive text

Comment by Northern

Why are you up at this time? Are you trying to win ‘Dad of the Year’? Surely in Leeds all you have to do is not feed your kids cider under the age of 7?!

Comment by Rob

If I wasn’t currently up with a little girl who can’t stop coughing and looking at up at me with her beautiful eyes as if to say why am I I’ll daddy? I might find that marginally amusing.
And we don’t serve children cider in Yorkshire its strictly bitter

Comment by Northern

And I am dad of the year
Fact

Comment by Northern

That was a trick question by me. You passed, with flying colours.

Comment by Rob

Good answer NP.
Yorkshire tea and bitter, the staples of childhood.

Comment by Rob Mortimer (Not a fake Andy)

you spelt “dirty perverted sleazy northern bastard” wrong groper.

Comment by andy@cynic

strictly bitter. never a truer fucking word said.

Comment by andy@cynic

I received an application similar to that relatively recently. I wanted to send a very personal response but was advised to simply ignore it. I still regret following that advice.

Comment by Bazza




Leave a Reply

