The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Is LinkedIn Disconnected?
May 22, 2012, 6:10 am
Filed under: Comment

I’ve previously written how I think LinkedIn have started to lose it, however further evidence presented itself when I recently saw this ad posted on the side of my page:

If truth be told, I’m quite ambitious … so while I’m very happy at W+K and pretty satisfied with where my career is at – I’m always open to chatting with people so I gave the suggestion a second look.

That said, I’d never heard of Johnson Controls – and while I accept that means nothing – the fact that LinkedIn were proposing I connect to them intrigued me, because let’s face it, LinkedIn is the World’s most connected professional network and if anyone knows what’s going on, it’s them. Ahem.

So I clicked.

While the development of products and services that optimise energy and operational efficiencies for buildings, automotive batteries and interior systems is very important, I’m still not sure what they’d do with a planner who is obsessed with getting his company to make a car [that’s for you Andy and NP] which leaves me with only 2 possible reasons why LinkedIn suggested we connect:

1. They’ve heard I’m shit & think I need to be a forklift truck driver at Johnson Controls.
2. LinkedIn is like many other CRM companies. Full of shit and hype.

As I’ve said before, I find it incredibly amusing when CRM/DM companies say “they get results” because what they actually get is data that shows how ineffective they are.

That’s a big difference, but in an industry that continually mistakes quantifiable for effectiveness, I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised.


35 Comments so far
Leave a comment

If Amazon can’t offer accurate recommended choices with all the personal data they have available to them, it’s little surprise Linkedin are failing so spectacularly in company connection suggestions.

The premise of intelligent data is wonderful and powerful but without a broad enough pool, it will make wild suggestions that undermines the whole premise of value they are claiming they offer.

On the positive, it’s not as bad as Facebooks share price value.

Comment by Pete

As long as Bono is losing money, I like facebook.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I don’t think he’s lost money. Maybe made less than he expected, but not lost any.

Comment by Pete

Who do you think you are Pete, John “pedantic” Dodds?

Comment by DH

why the fuck does everything have to recommend shit? amazon once fucking recommended me to buy a fucking doll just because id previously ordered some girl shit for georges daughters. made me look a fucking kiddy fiddler. i quite like amazon but ill only trust their recommendations when they stop being presumptive fuckwits and as they forget data tells you what happened not why it happened, that means common fucking sense wont be coming anyfuckingtime soon.

and ill trust a divorce lawyer before i trust fucking linkedin.

Comment by andy@cynic

It’s a bit like not being able to walk into a coffee shop and just ask for a coffee flavoured coffee. Except it isn’t.

Comment by Rob

Paid a fortune to do nothing but have free holidays and write this blog. Yeah I’d be happy with where my career was as well.

Thank you linkedin for trying to fuck it all up for him.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Now that should be Rob’s LinkedIn profile.

Comment by DH

good fucking point. anyone know where steve is so he can hack campbells account and make it happen? hes probably in prison again but its worth a shout.

Comment by andy@cynic

If you put your trust in LinkedIn you deserve all you get. Which will be nothing except bad recommendations and false reviews of careers. Fact.

Comment by DH

Robert used to say the majority of linkedin profiles were more fanciful than The Lord of the Rings.

Comment by George

That was only after I read yours George. Ha.

Comment by Rob

I would love to understand the linkedin algorithm. I wonder if it’s similar to dating websites where they look for the most basic commonality criteria to ensure they always are able to offer suggestions? In both cases, if anyone should be fairly firm with their search criteria it’s dating and job companies.

Comment by George

Keep it random. Variety is the spice of life. And STD’s.

Comment by Billy Whizz

stop trying to impress george, its not fucking working. google might give you a lot of shit, but even those happy clappies cant turn you into a norwegian heavy metal loving, chronic masturbating nerd. well not the last fucking bit anyway.

Comment by andy@cynic

George would never like Norwegian heavy metal.

Comment by Rob

Is it abuse George day today?

Comment by George

everyfuckingday.

Comment by andy@cynic

Dating sites requiring firm criteria? Is George here all week?

Comment by John

He’s saying dating websites DON’T require firm criteria. Though I’d like to know [1] how he knows that and [2] how you know that.

Comment by Rob

So that’s why he wrote “if anyone should be fairly firm with their search criteria it’s dating and job companies.” – now I see why you never made it in the copywriting department.

Comment by John

I’m confused. Isn’t he saying they should be because finding someone means sharing some fundamental values/interests? Oh hang on, I’m talking to you – that means they just have to be breathing. Boom Tish.

Comment by Rob

I don’t know why he’s saying it. I just read it correctly and you didn’t.

Comment by John

I’m still confused but he’s a big boy, I’ll let him fight his own screwed up battles.

Comment by Rob

Im not battling with him. And I see right through your deflection tactics. Yes tatics.

Comment by John

get a fucking room bumboys.

Comment by andy@cynic

I can tell you they don’t work either. Unless they know something i don’t…

Comment by Rob Mortimer (Not a fake Andy)

I get regular ads pimping fork lift trucks… Makes a change from fucking dildos. And this is “AdScam” George, not the other wanker.
Cheers/George

Comment by George Parker

Fork lift trucks? I’ll swap you for my Johnson Controls rubbish.

Comment by Rob

Not that the other George is necessarily a wanker… I just want you all to understand that I am not.
Cheers/George

Comment by George Parker

he is. hes a planner, what else could he be.

Comment by andy@cynic

I am obviously not using LinkedIn properly.

Comment by Marcus

Or maybe you are.

Comment by Rob

campbell, you should be impressed linkedin even found someone to suggest you connect with because thats like finding a primary school choir who is willing to do a fucking duet with gary glitter. no prizes for guessing which side of the equation you are.

Comment by andy@cynic

[…] don’t know why given they think the best way I can improve my career is by going to work for Johnson Controls, but maybe it’s because everyone on there tries so hard to be professional and meaningful and […]

Pingback by If You Think This Blog Talks Shit, You Should See What’s On Linkedin … | The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]




Leave a Reply

