The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


I’m Gaga About Radio …
June 11, 2012, 6:15 am
Filed under: Comment

So last night, Jill and I listened to the radio.

The radio!!!

Who does that?

Well, according to independent radio sales results, quite a lot of people … however in my digitally connected, don’t-want-to-miss-a-thing, attention deficit World, I rarely do – or should I say I rarely did – because after last night, I’m going to make sure I spend a hell of a lot more time doing exactly that.

It’s important to note I’m not talking about podcasts.

Don’t get me wrong, they’re wonderful too, however I’m talking about something where you don’t know what is going to happen … where you don’t know what is going to be talked about … where you don’t know where it is going to go or where it will take you.

Of course it helped that we were listening to things that were both insightful and entertaining, but more than that, radio helped me relax and use my brain at the same time.

With no visuals to distract me, I found myself more focused on what was being said.

Because they’re no images, my imagination had to paint the picture to complete the story.

With only sound as its weapon, the focus was more on the story than on the style.

Radio might be old.

Radio might not be cool.

Radio might not even be – by television and internet standards – popular.

… but it ensures you don’t just hear what is being said, you listen.

Every word.

Every pause.

Every breath.

Every sound.

Simple. Pure. Intimate.

It’s utterly, utterly lovely.

You should try it some time.


30 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You lost me at the queen photo.

What are they wearing and why are they doing that weird nazi salute?

At least Fred isn’t in a leotard, so that’s something.

Comment by DH

They’re pretending they’re riding Harley cruiser motorbikes. The poodle at the end is even leaning back for added realism.

Comment by Billy Whizz

They’ll hurt themselves if they fall off in those outfits. Though Brian May will be OK if he lands on his helmet hair head.

Comment by DH

They’re already covered in bandages. Maybe they fell off their imaginary bikes already or they might me members of the gay chapter of the Hells Angels.

Comment by Billy Whizz

As much as I hate to say this, you’re right – they do look like they’re extras in Easy Rider. But Easy Rider from the future.

Comment by Rob

Brian May is high-panting.

Suits his out of date hair.

Comment by DH

So what did you actually listen to Rob?

Comment by Pete

probably a recording of his own fucking voice pete.

Comment by andy@cynic

Apart from when I’m driving, I can’t remember the last time I consciously listened to the radio but you make a compelling case for me to change that situation. I wonder if your adoration of the medium is more to do with your time apart from it than it’s unique entertainment features. Maybe a bit of both. I’ll find out for myself.

Comment by Pete

You’re probably right about the time away from radio having a big impact on why I liked it – especially after I found this post about my time machine: http://tinyurl.com/ydltcb5

Comment by Rob

I should try listening to radio sometime?

You don’t get to tell me what to do Rob. I’m an independent, free thinking man. Unless you give me a lot of money. 3 figures minimum. And the 2 numbers after the decimal point don’t count. I’m not falling for that trick again.

Comment by Billy Whizz

nothing gets passed you these days billy.

Comment by andy@cynic

the only thing more fucking boring than hearing about someones fucking dream is hearing their condecensing fucking view about the radio show they listened to last fucking night. congrats campbell, youve reached a new low. every fucking time i think youve reached ground fucking zero you prove me wrong. bastard.

Comment by andy@cynic

It’s nice to know all those years of practice are finally coming into their own.

Comment by Rob

Surprised, again. This time by the number of followers of this blog – and the principal – in having “re-discovered” radio. I’m surprised, and not the first to note, because radio is an amazingly creative and stimulating medium. You should all tune in to This American Life once. I don’t think you can resist returning to it. OK, I know Andy is going to point out that radio is all this oap knows. Well fuck Andy (nothing personal, Andy).

Comment by Ciaran McCabe

you make more fucking sense than any other fucker on here ciaran so dont get your fucking colostomy bag in a twist, youre alright by me.

Comment by andy@cynic

and campbell only likes radio because he has a face for it. and he used to do work for whatever provincial radio station that exists in nottingham. but then thats because no other fucking medium existed back then. probably the same situation given nottingham is stuck in the 1820s.

Comment by andy@cynic

Thanks Andy. Thanks a lot.

Comment by Rob

Hi Ciaran …

Radio is an amazing medium and if you choose the right station, with an almost endless stream of quality and thought-provoking stories, opinions and pieces of news & information. Of course, if you accidentally switch to Radio 1, then you want to kill yourself.

Comment by Rob

“digitally connected, don’t-want-to-miss-a-thing, attention deficit World.” The perfect description of yourself there Rob.

Nice post, but podcasts are much more efficient, at least for 5 more weeks.

Comment by Bazza

Yes. I am aware of that. Thank you very much.

Comment by Rob

Yes, this post is nearly disqualified from relevance via the Queen reference
I might add though that Radio 4 is quite wonderful, The Today Programme, In our Time, Start the Week., The Buggles were wrong

Comment by northern

I love radio… back in Melbourne, when not fumbling with burnt cd’s, my car was always tuned to talk-back. Apart from enjoying the absolute nut cases that call up and rant about random injustices, it helped me stay connected and in tune with the mood of the city. Great stuff…

Comment by Age

Was it Stan Zermanick or some other racist hick?

Comment by Rob

haha, nah he left ages ago to do a shitty daytime TV show for bored housewives. Not Derryn either, can’t stand that guy!!!

Comment by Age

ive just listened to radio gaga. what a pile of fucking shit. if thats an ode to radio, then radio would rather be fucked up the ass by a horses massive fucking cock.

Comment by andy@cynic

Are you telling me you’ve avoided Radio Gaga up ’till now and all it took was a Rob post to make you sample it?
I’m torn between congratulating you on the avoidance and the dreadful hold Rob, a planner, obviously has over you, who’d have thunk it?

Comment by northern

just because ive got a stronger fucking resolve than you, theres no fucking need to get all fucking shirty, you weak puddle of northern piss.

and i had heard it before. or it could be the sound of a marriage disintegrating in front of my fucking eyes.

Comment by andy@cynic

england played like they were listening to radio fucking gaga.

at least they didnt lose. consider that my birthday present to you campbell.

happy fucking birthday.

Comment by andy@cynic

This song was the first musical selection played on XM Satellite Radio when they launched on 9/25/01.

Comment by Deke




Leave a Reply

