The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


My Favourite Part Of The Week …
September 3, 2012, 6:06 am
Filed under: Comment

Sunday afternoon.

Probably around 3:30pm.

Any work that needed to be done has been finished and put away.

We’re watching a documentary or some film we’ve bought from the local dodgy DVD store.

The cat is asleep.

I’m stretched out on the couch.

My head gently resting against my wife’s side.

We’re probably holding hands.

Depending on the weather, there’s either a bottle of ice cold Coke Zero or a cup of hot coffee on the table in front of us.

At that moment, everything – and I mean everything – is OK with the World.

I like that feeling.

It doesn’t happen enough.


33 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Lazy bastard.

Comment by Billy Whizz

So Jill’s holding you up as usual.

Comment by Billy Whizz

nice work billy.

Comment by andy@cynic

Yes … though I prefer to describe myself as a ‘profiting parasite’. Or a planner with self interests. Ahem.

Comment by Rob

So let me get this straight. You’re lying on the couch and Jill is basically your pillow?

You’re also watching a film you like. Drinking a drink you like and being kept away from any interruptions you don’t like.

You’re more of a prince than Wills.

Comment by DH

Princess.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Campbell, not you Dave. Except when you’re high.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I don’t know what you mean and I don’t want to know.

Comment by DH

story of his life. and career. bastard.

Comment by andy@cynic

But not as much as George Parker.

Comment by Rob

I say that because he describes himself as a “prince”, not because I have intel on his home life. Or do I?!

Comment by Rob

My favorite part of the week is when you’re on one of your work trips (paid holidays) and don’t update this blog. Just saying.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Me too.

Comment by Rob

so your favourite part of the week is when youre acting like a fucking 90 year old.

explains a fucking lot.

Comment by andy@cynic

and i bet the documentary or film involves death, conspiracy, triumph over fucking adversity or a car chase. bet jill loved her wedding anniversary weekend.

did you really give her that fucking cardboard cut out of yourself? i was divorced for not passing wife #1 the fucking salt or something and you have a hot wife that likes you even when youre about as romantic as fucking mugabe.

women. cant live without them, cant easily put them in an asylum.

Comment by andy@cynic

Yes I did and she loved it. Well, kind-of. The cat on the other hand, hated it. We also got matching tattoos … so it appears that [1] Jill has started her mid-life crisis and [2] we’re the Tommy Lee & Pamela Anderson of errrrm, sadville. That doesn’t sound right does it. Damn.

Comment by Rob

thats sadder than wearing fucking birkenstocks. youre going to end up looking like billys fucking father at this rate.

Comment by andy@cynic

Thanks again for making me look a bad husband, Robert. Sarah read this post before me so caught me unawares when she asked what my favorite part of the week was. It seems pausing was not the right response.

Comment by Pete

Same thing happened with Mary. Whenever asked a question like that, men should realise it revolves around something they’ve heard on Oprah or read on this blog. Thank you very much Robert. For nothing.

Comment by George

why are you surprised campbell has fucked up your relationships? he fucked up my fucking engagement. ok, so he saved me from a third time fucking unlucky marriage, but he still fucked it up.

Comment by andy@cynic

Yes, keep blame throwing Andy, maybe one day some of it will stick. Besides, despite having nothing to do with the infamous break up, we all know it saved you a huge amount of money in additional alimony … money you are now spending on your wonderful daughter.

Comment by Rob

women ruin my bank account.

Comment by andy@cynic

It doesn’t Robert and it should. Remember, that is up to you to make happen..

Comment by Lee Hill

You sound like Jill.

Comment by Rob

I’m the first female to comment on this and can I just say – that’s a lovely way of spending a Sunday afternoon. I even sent the link to your post to my husband. Hahahaha.

Comment by Anjali Ramachandran (@anjali28)

My apologies to your husband.

Comment by Rob

I liked this post. It is lovely.

Comment by Marcus

Hello lovely. How are you?

Comment by Rob

Been better. Been worse.

Comment by Marcus

yes it is, ignore the grumpy madness

Comment by northern

Ignore it? That’s means ignoring this blog in its entirety.

Oh, now I understand ….

Comment by Rob

How sweet!

Either you are being a very nice husband, or you are saving some brownie points for a gigantic faux pas.

Sports car?
New orange Birkenstocks?
R2D2 Sofa?
Andy coming over to visit?

Comment by Rob Mortimer

Sweet post! Life should be like this everyday. Thanks for the inspiration.

Comment by Alice




Leave a Reply

