The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Who Do They Think They’re Fooling?
July 25, 2013, 6:13 am
Filed under: Comment

So I recently was in a supermarket when I spotted this:

Now I appreciate that size of packet doesn’t always reflect the volume of its contents and I also accept that in this globalised World, identical products in a store may actually originate from different countries, but people – especially when they’re in the retail environment – don’t think or care about this sort of thing and all this behaviour does is alienate people from your brands.

OK, so the chances of this appearing in the same store are potentially quite low, but still, it’s hardly great brand management.

Maybe they would have been better simply saying, ‘New Size’ … so it implies it’s bigger, but legally, they can claim it was smaller.

Yes, I know that’s a shady, bullshit way to do it and I’m not really advocating it – especially as they’d cop even more shit if people found out – but pointing this out gives me the chance to quote one of my favourite football stories.

Many years ago, there was a football manager called Tommy Docherty.

He had a fairly good reputation and joined Rotherham United, who were residing in division 2. [This was when division 2 was really division 2 … not division 3 as it is in today’s mad marketed football league]

Sadly the team didn’t perform very well that year and by got relegated, which led to this wonderful quote by Docherty when interviewed by the media:

“I promised the Chairman I’d get us out of Division 2 & I did.”

Ambigious truth genius.


21 Comments so far
Leave a comment

And the marketing industry wonders why they’re viewed with the same trust levels of a used car salesman.

Comment by Pete

sour fucking cream and onion? theyre crisps for upper class wannabe twats. cheese and onion and pickled onion monster munch are the only way to fucking go. fact.

Comment by andy@cynic

I knew there’d be one thing we’d finally have in common.

Monster Munch Pickled Onion crisps are gifts from god. Albeit a god with no taste sensitivity, but a gift all the same.

Comment by Rob

proving your taste is up your arse, theres fucking much better football quotes than that. even your beloved fucking clough said better than that shit.

Comment by andy@cynic

I once gave Mary a monster munch (a single piece of monster munch) and she asked if I was trying to poison her.

Comment by George

Funny, Jill had the same reaction … which was at least more positive than when she had a pork scratching and saw a hair on it and asked “why does it have that”?

The answer put her off bacon for life.

Comment by Rob

Been a while since I was pedantic, so I have to point out that division 2 today is the fourth division not the third. Not relevant to any of our lives, but important for you to know where `Forest will be langusihing in a couple of seasons.

Comment by John

Excellent pedanticness John.

Comment by George

I think you mean pedantry George.

Comment by John

You mean there’s 4 divisions worth of that shit game? You brits are great at overdosing on crap aren’t you.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I saw what you did there John. You get bonus points for double pedantic behaviour.

And yes, it is the 4th division … no wonder my finances are in such weird places given I can’t even count to 5 correctly.

Comment by Rob

I couldn’t have done it without George and I dedicate this award to him.

Comment by John

Or is it a “bigger size” because they are now basing it on the pack dimensions to content weight ratio?

Comment by George

“So I recently was in a supermarket when I heard the PA announce “weirdo in aisle five”

Comment by John

Where in the supermarket were you when you heard that announcement John? Aisle 5 perhaps?

Comment by Rob

Well, it’s bigger than the smallest format they have….far fetched, but hey It worked for apple

Comment by rafik

Don’t get me going on the current piddling size of Mars Bars.
Just don’t

Comment by northern

Korea is going to be awesome.

Or it is if a certain client doesn’t expect me to be in LA on the very days we are supposed to be meeting. Did you cause this potential hitch Northern? I bet you did.

Comment by Rob

Don’t blame me. If you’re put off by the thought of two over the hill athletes mis-hitting tennis balls it’s OK to admit it, it really is.

Comment by northern

Wehad to get up in the morning at ten o’clock at night half an hour before we went to bed, drink a cup of sulphuric acid, work twenty-nine hours a day down mill, and pay mill owner for permission to come to work, but we had Mars bars the size of football boots. you try and tell the young people of today that ….. they won’t believe you.

Comment by John

Birds Eye Burgers and chips for tea.
Childrens programmes without any irony.
Chistmas as the only time you got toys apart from your birthday.
Saving up your pocket money for a Luke Skywalker figure.
Not mention Marathon bars instead of bloody Snickers

Comment by northern




Leave a Reply

