The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Thailand: Land Of Smiles, Skinny Men & Pear-Shaped Women.
August 12, 2013, 6:10 am
Filed under: Comment

I swear I wrote about this a year ago, but for the life of me, I can’t find it.

Not that it matters because I know you never read what I post.

So I was in Thailand recently for MediaWorks and because it was held in the same hotel as last year, I got to see the most politically incorrect toilet signage in the World all over again.

What am I talking about?

This:

Seriously, what were the guys behind this thinking?

Actually, what are these guys behind this trying to say?

I don’t know if it’s an insult to the men of Thailand or the women?

Are they implying the guys are more fragile than the ladies or is it inferring that Thai women have child bearing hips fit for an elephant?

Of course, both scenario’s are utter rubbish, which begs the question …

WHY HASN’T ANYONE AT THE HOTEL DONE SOMETHING ABOUT IT?

Mind you, when a toilet sign is the main talking point of the hotel, maybe the management have bigger issues they need to sort out … but at least they’re not as bad as the Conrad.


18 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Robert. I’ve emailed and SMS’d. When you see one of these messages, please could you contact me as soon as possible. Everything is fine at my end, I heard some news about a long, lost mutual friend that I need to get clarified and I am hoping you are still the man in the know. Thank you.

Comment by George

Everything OK?

Comment by DH

That depends on whether the information I’ve heard is correct or not. I am hoping, it isn’t.

Comment by George

ill tell him to call you george because hell call me before he calls you. he might be a planning twat but he has got his priorities in order.

Comment by andy@cynic

and while youre fucking at it, call me because i know fucking everything. or want to know everything, especially if its fucking gossip.

Comment by andy@cynic

It’s not good gossip.

Comment by Rob

That’s funny, I didn’t get anything – calling now.

Comment by Rob

And no … I don’t know why I felt the need to write that comment when you’ll hear from me in 10 seconds.

Comment by Rob

You definitely have written this post before. I don’t remember it, but I’m basing it on the fact you’ve only ever written about 4 subjects on this blog and everything is just an alternative version of that.

Comment by DH

For the record, it’s planning, family, queen and triumph over adversity.

Comment by DH

I was going to say it suggests a belief that thinner women avoid public toilets, but then I remembered that

“the public toilet is a locus of transnationalism and globalisation, (re)producing gender and sexual identities as befits the ever-changing architecture of urban spaces and notions of civilised society.”

Comment by John

what the fuck are you going on about doddsy? and thin women are always in the toilets. where else can they throw up their food to make sure the dinner theyve just scoffed doesnt go to their fucking thighs?

spot the single man.

Comment by andy@cynic

Spoken like a man who only dates/marries models. Haha.

Comment by Rob

I am fairly sure you’ve written about this before Rob. Your saving grace is that it highlights the length of time the hotel management are fine with their un-PC behaviour.

Comment by Pete

Maybe it’s a toilet for pregnant women and you’re trying to have them banned. You bastard.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I come back from holiday expecting gold and get toilet signs.

Comment by northern

[…] Thailand: Land Of Smiles, Skinny Men & Pear-Shaped Women. […]

Pingback by Thailand: The Land of Smiles

[…] Thailand: Land Of Smiles, Skinny Men & Pear-Shaped Women. […]

Pingback by amaterialsscience.com | Thailand: The Land of Smiles




Leave a Reply

