The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


As If The Motor City Didn’t Have Enough Problems …
September 3, 2013, 6:10 am
Filed under: Comment

As you might have guessed from the title of this post, I’m not here.

No, honestly I’m not … this is the future me writing this post.

In fact, to be totally precise, this is me from 2057 where I am a sprightly 87 years old.

I could tell you everything that happens between 2013 and today, but as I don’t know how long I’ve got left to live, I will just give you a topline on all the issues you really care about.

You know all those dreams you had that you’d strike it rich or that adland would change and be the ignition for the greatest cultural change ever seen or that I’d start writing shorter posts and hating Queen and Birkenstocks?

One word: Nope.

Sorry.

In fact the only good news I have for you is that I don’t write any more blog posts from today till next Monday.

OK, so that might not please you as much as learning you’re going to be a trillionaire or that you’re going to marry some supermodel [which you’re not], but it’s better than nothing isn’t it?

No?

Well screw you, you bunch of little princes and princesses.

Anyway, because I’m writing this post from the future, I thought I’d give you the chance to experience what I’m experiencing, so given I am currently in Detroit – the “Motor City” [or I was when I wrote this post – which doesn’t make sense, given I said I was writing this from the future … which means the whole premise of this post is fucked], I will give you the chance to see what British folks thought of their cars back in the 1990’s.

Yes, the 1990’s … when most of you sods were probably in kindergarten.

Bastards.

Now even though I know most of you will have already watched it because the very lovely Russell wrote about it ages ago, it’s still worth a look … though I have to say I’d be interested to see what the response would be like if it was filmed today given the once elite car brands – like BMW – now outnumber the classic rep vehicles – like the Ford Mondeo – on British roads these days.

Anyway, enough of all that, just enjoy watching the tragedy that was the British car driver back in the early 90’s and – because I am in the future so know this stuff – I will definitely see you on Monday.


18 Comments so far
Leave a comment

you and detroit suit eachother. both broken down has beens living off the past. and no campbell, that doesnt give you the chance to show that fucking chrysler spot you fuckers did again.

Comment by andy@cynic

Have you seen the video he’s posted? That Chrysler ad would be less painful, even after the millionth time.

Comment by DH

Good point, can’t believe I didn’t do that.

Comment by Rob

motherfucker.

Comment by andy@cynic

i was wrong, you have more fucking money than detroit. then so does a tramp with a single dollar bill.

Comment by andy@cynic

youre not paying me an unwanted, unexpected visit are you? im calling the cops now.

Comment by andy@cynic

I have faith in the US immigration service.

Comment by DH

I bet you look the same at 87 as you did at 43. And not in a good way.

Comment by Billy Whizz

He’s not really writing from the future Billy. But he does look 87 years old.

Comment by DH

A week in Detroit? Karma seems to have caught up with you Rob.

See you on the West coast.

Comment by Bazza

I haven’t watched all of it, but from what I’ve seen so far, that documentary is a tragic comedy. Enjoy Detroit, if that isn’t an oxymoron.

Comment by Pete

It appears the future version of me has altzhiemers because I actually leave tomorrow. But don’t worry, there still won’t be another post till next Monday.

Comment by Rob

I still have a chance to leave the country. Brilliant.

Comment by DH

fucking idiot.

Comment by andy@cynic

Did you npotice how many of those reps were listening to Queen as they cruised the commerce highway.

Comment by John

Yes … it inspired them to be awesome.

Comment by Rob

didnt anyone manage to stop the fucker from coming over? idiots.

Comment by andy@cynic

On the subject of car trips, if you haven’t seen this. you should. The Spandau Ballet moment is particularly excellent

Comment by northern




Leave a Reply

