The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Some Monday Motivation …
October 21, 2013, 6:10 am
Filed under: Comment

For some reason, people ask for my advice on a whole bunch of stuff.

No, I don’t know why either – unless they want to find out what I’d do and then do the opposite, which sounds quite a good idea.

As I’ve said before, I will never tell people what to do, because apart from having no right to do that, ultimately, we all have to take responsibility for our own decisions [and mistakes, hahaha] … which is why, despite having written a bunch of posts on how to survive – and sometimes thrive – this industry:

+ Career advice from a dummy.

+ Comfort is the enemy of progress.

+ Don’t wait until you’re spoken to.

+ Actions speak louder than mission statements.

+ It’s called a brief for a reason.

+ Does fitting in meaning mean tuning out.

+ Choose your boss, not the agency.

+ We need more imperfect solutions.

… I still say, as Mr Zappa endorses, the best advice is to never listen to anyone’s advice.


25 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can hear Zappa turning in his grave from here.

Comment by DH

Isn’t this whole blog about how not to blog?

Comment by Billy Whizz

Never listen to anyone’s advice but here are links to a bunch of my advice. Spot the man in advertising.

Comment by Billy Whizz

It’s not advice, it’s “consideration”. #plannerbullshit

Comment by DH

It’s for context. Ahem.

Comment by Rob

I think the most applicable quote here comes from Mr T of The A Team: “Rules are for the guidance of wise men and the obedience of fools. I ain’t getting on no plane, Hannibal!”

Comment by Shackleford Hurtmore

“I still say, as Mr Zappa endorses, the best advice is to never listen to anyone’s advice.” Rob… You do fucking realize what you’ve just done… Don’t you? Probably not.
George “AdScam” Parker

Comment by George Parker

I’ve always said humans are hypocritical beasts George, I’m just proving it.

Comment by Rob

Excellent un-advice there Robert. Well worth a revisit.

Comment by Pete

Advice is good, we all need it and benefit from it. The problem occurs when people use it to dictate their decision rather than inform it, hence Mr Zappa’s distain.
What this post tells me is amongst all the strangeness on this blog, there is much valuable advice that people can take on board to help decide what is the right decision for them. Good work Robert.

Comment by George

the comment section does most of the heavy lifting

Comment by niko

Good point George. The bit about needing advice, not the bit about there being some good things on this blog.

Comment by Rob

If you tagged your posts correctly Robert, you wouldn’t need to do compendiums like this.

Many years ago, I had the pleasure of spending the afternoon with Mr Zappa. He was a very interesting yet eccentric gentleman. In some ways, I recognise some similarities between you, but his facial hair was far more imposing.

Comment by Lee Hill

I can hear Zappa stabbing his dead eyes and ears.

Comment by DH

I take it you mean our similarity is our dress sense. Except in the 70’s, his didn’t look as out-of-place as mine does today. Unfortunately.

Comment by Rob

the only thing campbell has in common with zappa is he mind fucked up a bunch of people.

Comment by andy@cynic

Awesome🙂

Comment by Notes To Ponder

There’s no predictability whether an advice could work. One man’s problem may not be another man’s problem. And only if life’s 100% predictable as well.

Oh well.. pardon me rambling.

Comment by Miki

Oh I forgot to add… that and I still look to you for advice Rob!

(Replying to my own post is like giving myself a pat on the back)

Comment by Miki

youre a planner arent you miki. thats a planner answer and thats not a compliment. youre only out is it seems you know campbell so its all his fucking fault. as usual.

Comment by andy@cynic

You should still share your experiences with people and what’s worked for you and what has not.
It’s true we should learn from mistakes etc, but you might just save someone from doing something really, really dumb.
The problem with most blog types is that they give lots of floaty advice that doesn’t help some poor bastard in the real world, when you do share, it’s always realistic and useful.

Comment by northern

About the job I mean. Any advice about music or clothing should be avoided at all costs

Comment by northern

You have way more faith in me than me. Or you’re just very good at giving false praise. What the hell am I talking about, you’re in advertising … of course you are giving me false praise. Damn it.

Comment by Rob

the only reason campbell doesnt give floaty advice is the fucker doesnt have the vocab. saved by ignorance. the story of his fucking life. jammy bastard.

Comment by andy@cynic

I could do with some advice.

Comment by John




Leave a Reply

