The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


A New Dawn …
January 6, 2014, 6:20 am
Filed under: Comment

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

So it’s 2014.

TWENTY FOURTEEN.

How amazing is that!

A new year.

A new start.

A new dawn of possibilities and potential.

Where will you go?

What will you see?

What will you discover and experience?

Given you’re here – reading the same rubbish I have written for the past EIGHT YEARS – it seems the reality is you’re in for the same 12 months of disappointment as you’ve just had.

Which means England are definitely NOT going to win the World Cup.

And on that bombshell, I’ll leave you to reminisce on your recent festive season of merriment, family and enjoyment … even though the reality was you probably had a week of arguing, disappointment and gluttony, though after reading this post, you might want to visit here.


20 Comments so far
Leave a comment

And so it starts again.

At least I have one more night of freedom before I have to endure what you’re facing right now Rob. Who am I kidding, you’re probably off to Bali to speak at a conference.

Comment by DH

I’ve just realized I made the first comment of 2014. The shame.

Comment by DH

Looks like the winner of 2014’s biggest loser has already been awarded.

Comment by Rob

Happy new year to everyone. I hope how I am currently feeling the night before returning to work is not representative of how I’ll be feeling for the whole year. (Nothing personal George.)

Comment by Pete

Xin nian kwai le!

Comment by Ian Gee

Well now I have proof wishes don’t come true.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Happy new year everyone. Hope you had a great time.

That’s the positivity for the year over, now back to normal.

Comment by Rob

Fuck…
I thought you had been fed to starving dogs by Kim Yung Tubby. Here in Idaho, we had the “Giant Potato Drop” on New Years Eve. Fuck Times Square and Shanghai wussies. Here in the Fourth Reich we get our priorities right… Far fucking right.
Cheers/George… A fucking prince.

Comment by George Parker

A new year comment from the King of Cynicism … maybe 2014 won’t be as much of a disaster as I imagined.

PS: I might be coming to Idaho in a few months [don’t ask] … can I buy you a drink. Let’s be honest, if you are going to meet me, you’ll probably need it.

Comment by Rob

1) George rightly does not recognise the concept of the singular drink – which will be just as well when he realises you don’t drink.

2) You will be meeting him, not the other way round.

Comment by John

You mean I will be stalking him to meet him. But I appreciate you not highlighting my social failings too obviously.

Comment by Rob

I amm all about positive spin.

Comment by John

You are the new Alastair Campbell.

Comment by Rob

Happy New Year Rob and to all your readers too.

Comment by Charles Edward Frith (@charlesfrith)

No one reads Rob’s stuff, just the comments.

Comment by DH

Rob… Coming to Idaho… As Obersturmbahnfuhrer of the Fourth Reich I will have to clear you in terms of racial purity… If you are not from Manchester, you are fucked… Unless you want to make a significant donation to the “George Parker Benevolent Fund.” Then an exception might be arranged.
Heil/George

Comment by George Parker

He’s not even from this planet.

Comment by Billy Whizz

No, he’s from uranus. I’m here all week.

Comment by DH

Is that joke from 1984 or 85 Dave?

Comment by Pete

He’d didn’t see the second M in Mormon.

Comment by John




Leave a Reply

