The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Why Bad Grandpa Should Make All Of Humanity Breathe A Big Sigh Of Relief …
February 19, 2014, 6:15 am
Filed under: Comment

Have you seen the film Bad Grandpa?

It’s a bit like Borat in the way the central character – in this case Johnny Knoxville – goes around in disguise causing trouble while cameras capture the horrified reactions of the general public who don’t know they’re being filmed.

If you have seen it, I’ll get to the point of this post in a minute, however if you haven’t, here’s a little taster of what it is all about …

So as you can tell, the movie is basically about the twisted – yet loving – relationship between a cantankerous, cranky, loveable pervert grandfather [played by Knoxville] and his sweet, butter-wouldn’t-melt-in-his-mouth, mischievous, grandson [played by Jackson Nicoll]

Throughout the film, they get up to all sorts of scrapes … from defecating in a family restaurant to entering a child’s pageant show [with the little boy dressed as a girl before launching into a full-on stripper routine to Warrant’s ‘Cherry Pie’] … however unlike Borat, which basically exploited stereotypes and cultural differences, the beauty of Bad Grandpa is that the overriding feeling you get at the end of it, is how utterly wonderful society is.

From showing how people are genuinely concerned about the well being of a kid seemingly on his own in the city through to a biker gang actively caring about the feelings of an old man who they believe has had to leave his grandchild with his loathed son-in-law, the movie inadvertently reveals the best of humanity.

I know that sounds mad, I know that might not actually be what Knoxville and the Jackass/MTV gang intended, but it does.

At a time where the media likes to present the World as a cesspit of hate, violence and crime … the movie Bad Grandpa will not only give you a lot of [guilty] laughs, it will also remind you there are far more good people out there than bad and as long as we all play our part in keeping it that way, there’s a chance things might not be as bleak as they sometimes appear.


25 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It is very nice to read all these positive posts about love and humanity but it begs the question, what on earth happened to you on your last holiday?
Having children impacts your ability to see these sorts of movies and I assume these sorts of movies are not ones I should allow my young daughters to see. But you have intrigued me Robert, I may just have to find a way to sneak a look.

Comment by George

He watched one too many oprah reruns.

Comment by Billy Whizz

im hoping he was kidnapped and they sent someone to write this shit while they negotiate his release. i hope thats what happened because if i find this shit is him were all fucking doomed.

message to kidnappers. is there any way you can keep him and not write any more of this lovey dovey blog post wank? ill make it worth your while.

Comment by andy@cynic

No kidnappers, just a momentary lack of taste. I’m sure tomorrow’s post will be back to normal, whatever normal is.

Comment by Rob

youre one big fucking momentary lack of taste campbell.

Comment by andy@cynic

I loved bad grandpa but this post has made me hate it. I wanted bad taste and I’ve learnt I got happy clappy humanity shit. Thanks a lot for nothing Rob.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I aim to [dis]please.

Comment by Rob

Did you have to train for it or did ruining people’s enjoyment just come naturally too you? I’m with Billy, a great bad taste movie has just been tainted by this post.

Comment by DH

you dont get that good at ruining hopes and dreams with training.

Comment by andy@cynic

Finally something I could win an Olympic gold in.

Comment by Rob

what the fuck is tomorrows post. how little kids are the future of the earth and we should love them and nurture them? even campbell isnt this wet so who the fuck is writing this bollocks?

Comment by andy@cynic

No, it’s about rabbits. Cute, adorable, fluffy little rabbits.

Comment by Rob

twat.

Comment by andy@cynic

Ignore everyone else Rob, I like this post though I am shocked Johnny Knoxville is maturing. Then again if you can, anyone can.

Comment by Pete

You’ve just given me a backhanded compliment. I also know you spent last weekend with Andy. Coincidence? I think not.

Comment by Rob

i make pete a better fucking person and dont you try and fucking say otherwise.

Comment by andy@cynic

It wasn’t meant like that Robert, but as I read it back, I can see why you think it wasn’t exactly complimentary. I will blame it on Andy, it gives me an out and will make him feel important.

Comment by Pete

I believe you Pete. Thousands wouldn’t, but I do.

Comment by Rob

Thank you for giving me the perfect excuse to watch it Robert.

Comment by Lee Hill

Always happy to help you Lee.

Comment by Rob

I like this, I think it’s true that amidst the gross out comedy fayre, the ones that tend to do best are the ones that have decency and people that are actually quite nice at heart.
What got missed about American Pie was how likeable the characters the were.

Comment by northern

On the subject of lapses of judgement, never comment on blogs when you’re tired and angry. You know what I’m on about.

Comment by northern

rookie error – but nobody reads this blog so you’re safe.

Comment by John

Correction. No one of significance or influence reads this blog. Except Lee, but he does it to claim he understands the lower classes or something. Probably.

Comment by Rob

Lee must have done something real bad in a past life.

Comment by DH




Leave a Reply

