The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Old Is Bold …
April 30, 2014, 6:10 am
Filed under: Comment

I’ve written in the past that I hate how so many in adland dismiss people over the age of 25.

I’ve written how there are many people over a certain age who have achieved more in our industry than most of the modern ‘cool-set’ put together.

I’ve also said how it’s interesting that 2 of the best creative agencies for the past 30 odd years were founded – and run – by people in the 60’s, despite the industry loving to say it’s a ‘young mans game’.

Now as I’ve always said, I’m not anti-young it’s just I don’t think we should be anti-old either.

People should be judged by what they have achieved and achieve which is why I find Wieden so special, because they never devalue age, they purely value creativity … and that’s why I always advise people to never just focus on what’s the shiniest new thing, but to also discover the people who influenced the shiniest new thing, whether they’re alive, dead or just the best kept secret of pragmatism and provocation.

Anyway, the reason for all this is that I recently read about someone who – while not in adland – is a revelation to me.

And he’s 94.

NINETY FOUR.

It’s not just what he has achieved – which is a huge amount – it’s his attitude to life, which if I’m being honest, is far more interesting, forward thinking and, in a twisted-yet-humouress-way, optimistic than I’d expect from a 30 year old, let alone someone 6 years away from a telegram from Her Majesty.

Anyway, I won’t go on … instead, I’ll just leave you with the article that showed you can teach old dogs new tricks, it’s the young pups that are often the problem.


23 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Said like an old bastard who wants to feel better about that fact.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Don’t ruin my future employment strategy Billy.

Comment by Roberto

You’re doing a good enough job of that by yourself.

Comment by Billy Whizz

And pension boy still looks better than you.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Better dressed.

Comment by DH

Happier, healthier and more sprightly. God, I’m doomed.

Comment by Roberto

A great article Rob, but James Lovelock’s pragmatism has nothing do with his age, he just has a sharp mind and a desire to still be connected and relevant to the World.

Comment by Pete

Isn’t that what makes him cool? He’s old but still has that mindset?

Comment by DH

That is a good point but I still think it is a celebration of his mindset rather than his age. I’ve met people who are much younger who are not interested in what is going on around them.

Comment by Pete

Fair point Pete … but the general attitude of our industry, of all industries, is that once you hit a certain age [unless you’re a CEO etc] you are out-of-date.

Of course some of the rationale of that is that it means companies can replace you with someone much cheaper … where the experience you have gained is not as valuable to them as the savings the company can make … and all I’m trying to say is that being connected, relevant and pragmatic is less to do with age and more about your attitude to life. Though I accept James Lovelock is a more extreme example of this.

Comment by Roberto

If he had a look at you Rob, he would say humanity is going to die out a lot sooner.

Comment by DH

I met James Lovelock a year ago. He is a legend. This blog has just upgraded its smarts.

Comment by George

Player.

Comment by DH

Stalker.

Comment by Bazza

Showoff.

Comment by Roberto

Maybe you should send the last couple of sentences to the nike guys who just killed off fuel band.

Comment by Bazza

Ouch

Comment by Northern

You know I want to respond to this but can’t. And you know the real reason I can’t as well – you evil sod.

Comment by Rob

Does that mean there is now budget for NIke cars?

Comment by northern

No … but I’ll try and get them to rename themselves Bike. It’s a start …

Comment by Rob

Very droll

Comment by northern

Well, as Baz points out, they’ve rejected the LIke option.

Comment by John

“On Your” replaces “Just Do It.”

Comment by John




Leave a Reply

