The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Everything New Starts Off Weird …
May 9, 2014, 6:15 am
Filed under: Comment

So I’m back.

Jetlagged and with a cold.

For the record, I was away for work so don’t give me any shit, thank-you-very-much.

Anyway, while the bad news is I’m back and writing another post of rubbish, the good news is I’m too bloody tired to write too much so I’m going to leave you with this.

Now I know what you’re thinking, why am I showing you a video of a nutcase dancing like a lunatic.

OK, maybe you’re not thinking that at all … but the reason I like it is not because I’m a mean bastard, but because I think it shows how group dynamics work in society.

The reality is, everything we now take for granted once started off as being seen as weird.

From music to biro’s … society has always been quick to negatively judge new because as a species, we tend not to like ‘different’ very much.

However, as Gladwell states, there is often a tipping point that moves new from ‘avoid’ to ‘attract’ [though I’m not sure I agree with all his theory on how that is achieved] which is why I can never understand why brands resist pushing culture to embrace the new when keeping culture firmly where they stand ultimately minimises their commercial potential.

Oh I know why, because most marketing managers/directors only care about today, because the future will be someone else’s responsibility and why would they help them with that?!

Anyway, the lesson of all this is embrace the strange, because it doesn’t matter if you’re in Canada or China, these characteristics still ring true, even if the way to encourage the tipping point varies.


28 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for ending my week on a low.

Comment by DH

at least hes fucking consistent.

Comment by andy@cynic

It could have been worse, I could have seen you.

Comment by Rob

Whether you wanted that or not, of course. Ha.

Comment by Rob

No. I’m thinking why are you showing us a video that’s been around the bad conference circuit for years.

And nobody makes the point that the really important thing to understand is not the Tipping Point but the mindset of the second and third participants. Without them there is no Tipping Point.

Comment by John

without the first twat theyd be no second or third twats. see, anyone can be a petty, spiteful bastard doddsy.

Comment by andy@cynic

Without the first one, there’d just be an infinite void of nothingness.

Comment by John

Not everyone is in touch with the world like you John. Especially me.

Comment by Rob

youre sounding like some social media twat campbell.

all that video shows is how drugs make people dance like fuckwits. thats why i never dance after taking drugs.

Comment by andy@cynic

Or a word of mouth guru. I hate those people even more than social media scammers.

Comment by DH

Welcome back Andy. You’ve been semi-missed.

Comment by Rob

oi baz, when are you launching beats by i? whats the fucking betting they resemble a fucking ipad.

Comment by andy@cynic

Why would a company that believes in understated design but a company that believes in overstated design? Jobs must be going apeshit in his coffin.

Comment by DH

If the deal goes through, you’ve just eloquently highlighted the difference between Apple under Tim Cook and Steve Jobs.

Comment by Pete

On the other hand, high margin hardware and a streaming ecosystem.

Comment by John

On the other hand, I’m a genius.

Comment by DH

I take your point.

Comment by John

Oh that’s a good viewpoint Dave. I know you probably didn’t mean to be that insightful, but that’s pretty insightful.

Of course, Apple are probably buying it for Beats music network rather than headphones division [though as a retailer, they were a major outlet for the Dre brand], but still, it’s an interesting move and not one I would immediately have thought of.

As interesting as I find it, my old MD – Jason – will find it much more intriguing, given he left us to join them. And he starts on Monday.

He’s going to be rich before he starts. Bastard.

Comment by Rob

Welcome back Rob, sorry I missed you. I like your point that few marketing people want to commit to the future. They all say they do, but they choose to invest their money and time into activities that will payoff while they are still around to enjoy it. Similar to modern democracy. Voting for what will benefit your personal circumstances rather than the future generations. Good to have you back.

Comment by Pete

Thank you for making something I wrote sound so much more interesting and insightful Pete. I’m sorry I missed you – but given you managed to get out of coming with George to PDX, it seems you’re not that sorry to have missed me. Ha.

Comment by Rob

The smiths were new and groundbreaking yet you haven’t caught up with them!

Comment by Northern

Bastard! I don’t know how to respond to that except to say Queen are older than The Smiths which means you should have succumbed to them before I succumbed to Morrissey and gang. Annnnnnnd, don’t forget I’ve written nice posts about 2 members of the depression gang in the last few months. What’s your excuse?

Comment by Rob

You may recall I admitted to liking a Queen song.
In other words, I have caught up with the actual music, while you have only revised prejudice against the artist.
Anyway, don’t go too far, you’ll be saying Bono is OK next

Comment by northern

I’m behind the curve too I still don’t get media arts

Comment by Northern

On the Apple beats thing, behemoth creative agencies with no imagination tend to buy outfits with fresher ideas and people when they’ve run out trying to revitalise from within.
In other words, it’s usually an admission of defeat.

Comment by northern

I know what you’re saying, but it’s only 3 weeks profit for Apple.

Comment by John

Fair point, I guess it’s better than microsoft who would simply bulldozer anyone else by any means necessary

Comment by northern

its like watching the 2 grumpy fucks from the muppets trying to talk business. at least richard quest has the decency to get fucked up and interesting. you fuckers sound like the most boring bastards in the fucking world.

the only reason i came back was to save you from talking shit like this. you fuckers owe me. in cash.

Comment by andy@cynic




Leave a Reply

