The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Where Advertising Is Concerned, There Is No Wrong Answer, Just Lots Of Right …
May 15, 2014, 6:10 am
Filed under: Comment

So recently, I was involved in a discussion with someone about a post my esteemed colleague, Martin Weigel, had written.

What I found interesting was the tone the commentator had used in his comment was from the perspective that his view represented everyones experience and that just got on my nerves.

OK, so I acted like an immature prick by taking the piss, but the fact is, I get really annoyed when someone’s personal perspective get conveyed as if it is scientific fact.

The reality is in adland, there is rarely one answer or response and yet over and over again, I see people talk as if they had the authority of God to make big claims and views.

Sure, personal experience shapes our views, but that still doesn’t mean it reflects what everyone will encounter.

While there are many similarities in what we will encounter in this industry, the fact is there will always be slight differences between us because we’re all bloody different and to not recognise that – or worse – ignore it and state the outcome you believe will happen to every single person who goes through it, is both idiotic and egotistical.

So by all means express your point of view, but remember it’s YOUR point of view and so people are well within their rights to offer an alternative perspective.

Not because your view is wrong, but because your view is only truly right for you.


25 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Politicians often say “As I’m sure most people would agree”.

I always conclude that they’ve done nothing to prove that certainty and that most people would be wise not to agree with what ever self-serving opinion is being expressed.

Comment by John

so what youre saying is planners are just like pointless fucking politicians.

Comment by andy@cynic

Politicians who can’t be voted out of office.

Comment by John

Well I did say this not too long ago:

http://tinyurl.com/lzj8n2h

Comment by Rob

An immature prick? You? What a surprise.

Comment by DH

I bet Martin was so relieved you jumped to his defence.

Comment by DH

he hasnt noticed yet.

Comment by andy@cynic

And doesn’t care …

Comment by Rob

Wait. Planners are human?

Comment by DH

To be fair to you Dave, the answer is not all of them … in fact, having just judged 120 effectiveness award submissions, it appears a large proportion are robots.

Comment by Rob

planners arguing must make italians look like fucking barbarians. sorry mrs c.

Comment by andy@cynic

Gold.

Comment by DH

My Mum is going to smash your head in for that Andy.

Comment by Rob

So does that mean I could challenge with your view in this post and you couldn’t disagree with me?

Comment by George

He’d find a way.

Comment by John

Absolutely.

Comment by George

I’d give it a good go.

Comment by Rob

“your view is only right for you”
Doesn’t that question your brands need a point of view schtick?

Comment by not an omnicom employee

I know what you’re trying to do and you know exactly what I’m talking about so I won’t even grant you with a sensible answer … and the fact I could never do that even if I tried is immaterial.

Comment by Rob

Blimey that was both non-petty, mature and a very good put down.
I never believed what people on here said about you, perhaps my point of view was truly right for more than me.
O bugger, there goes your argument.

Comment by Northern

It could also be because I’ve been with our global president for 12 hours and my brain hurts. And obviously I mean Wieden’s global president, not Putin or Obama or whoever thinks they have the uber-power.

Otherwise I’d of given you what you deserved, but I don’t know what that is so I’ll sign off now before I sound the sort of pervert you aspired to be in your twenties.

Comment by Rob

12 hours? I guess that’s why he makes the bug bucks.

Comment by John

You mean the kind of pervert Dodds is in his sixties.

Comment by Northern

what the fuck did he do to spend 12 fucking hours with you campbell? also shows dan the man still has the power to send some underling to deal with your shit instead of dealing with it himself. he might have fucked up hiring you but hes learnt how to avoid you.

Comment by andy@cynic

nice work northern. by nice i mean bastard work. but its still a fucking compliment.

Comment by andy@cynic




Leave a Reply

