The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


You Can’t Say You’re Curious If You Never Act On It …
May 16, 2014, 6:10 am
Filed under: Comment

So a few weeks ago, I posted this.

Look, I know working with me is about as tempting as spending an evening in the company of the Queen Fan Club, but it’s Wieden … and NIKE … and working in the most dynamic and influential nation on the planet … surely that overcomes having to see my ugly mug every day.

Well, apparently it doesn’t, for some.

Christ, how ugly must I be?

Is it the face or the fact I wear Birkenstocks?

In all seriousness, what has surprised me is how many people said they weren’t interested the moment they found out the role was based in China.

Don’t get me wrong, I know China has ‘issues’ – especially if you have a young family – and I know on face value it’s a very daunting place … but I’m amazed how many people didn’t even want to discuss or explore the possibility of the role once they knew where it was based, even though most admitted they’d never even visited here.

Amazing.

Of course not everyone had that attitude and we’re talking to a whole bunch of interesting people, but I’m surprised that the folk most up for it weren’t planners by trade but by associated experience.

Yes, that’s right, the people who were quickest to turn down the opportunity [before they’d even been offered the opportunity] were the very folk who proudly go on and on and on about how curious and adventurous they are.

I know I shouldn’t judge … I know there are a whole heap of factors that can stop someone from exploring opportunities beyond their own shores … I know moving countries is always a big thing, but to be honest, I’m surprised how many self proclaimed ‘curious folk’ were ready to shut down their interest just because of location.

Anyway, this is just to say that working overseas is an amazing and exciting experience and even though it can be daunting, I encourage you to not let your fears create immediate barriers. By all means don’t do it if you don’t want to, but at least get all the information before you decide and if you’re still unsure what you should do, follow the advice of Richard Branson:


42 Comments so far
Leave a comment

trust me campbell, it was all about you. they said china, they meant you. dont you get fucking subtext shit? i thought you were some sort of planning twat.

Comment by andy@cynic

He must know that, he just doesn’t want to feel bad about himself.

Comment by DH

Must be hard when all he has to do is look in the mirror and feel shame.

Comment by DH

of course youre talking to fuckers who are planners by “associated experience”, you dont fucking hire fuckers who can actually do the fucking job from day fucking 1 do you? pig feed fucking salesmen, ikea wankers, anything but a fucking planner who worked in an agency before. go on campbell, humour me, how many of your poor fucking planning team were a fucking planner before you ruined their fucking life.

Comment by andy@cynic

and pete doesnt fucking count. you knew him when he was flogging chips and peas on tottenham court fucking road.

Comment by andy@cynic

I’m not going to bite Andy.

Comment by Pete

Brilliant.

Comment by DH

To be fair, they were all good at fetching my laundry.

Comment by Billy Whizz

You washed your shit?

Comment by DH

You wash your shit? Freak.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Can you stop making it sound like I’m anti-planners. I’m not, I just rate people who have lived a life rather than an advertising lifestyle … so I don’t care what they’ve done/do as long as they’re connected to real life, not advertising life. Unfortunately my argument falls a bit flat when I acknowledge my team has no one in it that was a planner previously. But they’re all ridiculously smart … but obviously not so smart as to turn working with me. Ha.

Comment by Rob

getting fuckers from the local mentalhouse isn’t a recruitment strategy.

Comment by andy@cynic

That’s disappointing to hear Rob. I know working overseas is initially scary, but it quickly becomes exciting and addictive. Good on the guys who pet an open mind. Shame it sounds like many weren’t your classic planning types.

Comment by Pete

There are definitely some ‘proper’ planners in the mix, but all I’m saying is the guys with related experience rather than classic planning chops were the ones who were definitely the most open to exploring the opportunity rather than cutting it down before they found anything out about it. Or me about them.

Mind you, that decision by them told me everything I needed to know.

Comment by Rob

When I first arrived in New York in the early 60’s, before all you fuckers were born, I got an interview with Lou Dorfsman (Lou who… Fuck!) at CBS, the famous guy responsible for amazing design shit. He asked me if a I could handle marking up colour separations (colour wha?) I said I wasn’t sure if I could do it. He went fucking crazy… “Listen you British schmuck, if someone asks you if you can do something. Say yes. With luck, you’ll learn on the job. If you don’t, you’ll get fired. Go somewhere else and claim you can do everything.” I have used that advice since my “Mad Man” days. It fucking works. Particularly with women. Kate Moss. It’s all in “Confessions of a Mad Man.” Oh… And “Sir” Branson is a pompous wanker. But rich. So, It’s worked for him.
Cheers/George “AdScam” Parker. The Prince who can do every fucking thing!

Comment by adscamgeorge

This was just like watching the history channel.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Branson’s also a stupid rich wanker because he knows Campbell. It gets worse, he is best mates with the other George commentator on here. Bang goes his business cred and proof you can have more money than sense.

Comment by DH

Circle of trust. Circle of trust.

Comment by Bazza

Oh you’re back Baz. How’s the headphone business going?

You do know I work with Beats don’t you … guess that’s another thing I can try and tap you up for. Ha.

Comment by Rob

Excellent post George. I tell people here about how we used to have different coloured paper for internal memos and they look at me like I was an alien.

But that could be the Birkies.

Comment by Rob

Thank you for making me feel extremely old George. If you don’t mind, I will choose to ignore your evaluation of my employers characteristics.

Comment by Lee Hill

I wondered if you’d react to that comment Lee. I’m impressed, you’re far braver than Baz is when I talk about Apple. Ha.

Comment by Rob

I meant especially with Kate Moss… Don’t forget, Tomorrow, Friday on AdScam is Kate Moss day, preferably naked. Oh wait, you’re in fucking China, so it’s probably Saturday, or Monday by now. Whatever. You’ll be on holiday… ‘Cos you’re always on fucking holiday. Forget the Wieden and Nike shit. Just tell them they get 300 days a year off. Mind you, they have to put up with you for the rest of the year.
Cheers/George “AdScam” Parker

Comment by adscamgeorge

Gold.

Comment by DH

Don’t you start as well …

Comment by Rob

I just don’t like sports😉

Comment by Faris (@faris)

The fact you have made a comment on here would have discounted you Faris. I thought you were so, so, so much smarter than that. Ha.

Comment by Rob

I have a picture of Faris with reindeer antlers growing out of his head. I use on AdScam when I want to demonstrate just how fucked up the ad biz has become.
Cheers/George

Comment by adscamgeorge

I don’t think Faris will make the mistake of visiting either of our blogs again George.

Comment by Rob

I’m not fucking commenting on this

Comment by Northern

Ha. I’ve just emailed you – so that’s something to brighten your day. Ahem.

Comment by Rob

No email? Did you mean Facebook? Just checking.

Comment by Northern

Facebook. Jesus, I can’t believe I’ve just written that.

Comment by Rob

Since when does NP swear?

Comment by Marcus

He used to when he was Northern Planner, but ever since he shortened to Northern, he’s gone ‘nice’.

Comment by Rob

When he’s agitated

Comment by Northern

You’re wearing Birkenstocks.

Comment by Marcus

I just want to be Rob obvs

Comment by Northern

you sick fuck. you shouldnt even joke about that shit.

Comment by andy@cynic

I’m a great listener. I’ll move to China to be a party planner.

Comment by Steve Poppe (@spoppe)

if youre working for campbell, the job requires you to be a fucking holiday planner.

Comment by andy@cynic

+100000

Comment by John




Leave a Reply

