The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


And You Just Thought She Was Just A Big Pair Of Tits …
August 12, 2014, 6:10 am
Filed under: Comment

David Brent was right.

In an episode of The Office [the UK one, not the b-grade US version of the show] he said Dolly Parton was a philosopher, not just a big pair of tits [hence the title of this post] and it appears, if you look at her quote, he was right.

It would be easy to dismiss what she says as pure twaddle, but she’s right.

Of course work is important, but if we put all our effort into our job rather than the life that surrounds it, then we’re not just missing out on what life has to offer, we’re missing out on what our family can give us as well.

To be honest, I have been guilty of this in the past and have needed a swift kick in the throat to get my perspective back, but really all I need to do is go back to the value I look for when hiring a new colleague: have they lived a life, or a lifestyle?

Thanks Dolly, you’re right.

Now if only I could adopt your stance about work days being only 9 to 5.


36 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This from the man so busy making a life he’s forgotten he has to work to justify that massive salary. I don’t know what you have on Dan but it must be NSA quality.

Comment by DH

good fucking point. fuck all those official secret bollocks, the stuff that can do the most fucking harm to the world is the shit that resides in campbells head that has let him enjoy the life he fucking doesnt deserve to fucking dream about, let alone live.

Comment by andy@cynic

Adopt her stance about work days being only 9 to 5? Are you serious? You might just about work 8 hours a year but that’s about it. And I saw what you did with the 9 to 5 thing and it was rubbish.

Comment by DH

Should I try and find your old time sheets for comparison Dave? Trust me, you don’t want me to do that.

Comment by Rob

What was it about Billy’s life that made you hire him?

Comment by john

it was cheap to fucking rent.

Comment by andy@cynic

Not cheap. Excellent value.

Comment by Billy Whizz

This is not meant as an insult (even though it’s an insult) but that makes you sound like a planner.

Comment by DH

Fuck you.

Comment by Billy Whizz

is it april fucking one?

Comment by andy@cynic

Only if he works 8 hours today. Which we all know he won’t.

Comment by DH

I’m guessing I was proved right today.

Comment by DH

i fucking hate agreeing with you campbell but that was a good call about the us version of the office. i hated it almost as much as i hate the modern version of ricky fucking gervais.

Comment by andy@cynic

Double gold.

Comment by DH

It wasn’t that bad. But it wasn’t a patch on the British series, mainly because they remembered the first rule of entertainment, “leave them wanting more.”

Comment by George

You’ve changed George.

Comment by Rob

I’ve just started Arrested Development, now that’s comedy

Comment by Northern

So is ‘Silicon Valley’. I love that … mainly because it could also double as a documentary.

Comment by Rob

I love Dolly.

Comment by Jemma King

I agree. Dollywood was better than Disneyland.

Comment by Wayne Green

I hate disneyland. $10,000 bucks entry fee to stand in a queue, listen to complaining kids and have the right to pay another $100 for a fucking Disney themed coke.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I like Dolly as well. She once said “it costs a lot of money to look this cheap”. With that level of self awareness, self depreciation and humour, she should be British.

Comment by George

She laso said “I’m not offended by all the dumb blonde jokes because I know I’m not dumb… and I also know that I’m not blonde.”

Comment by john

She’s a legend.

Comment by Rob

It doesn’t matter if people want to follow her advice, it’s the companies they work for who need to encourage it.

Comment by Pete

That’s a very good point, especially when some companies forget that holidays are a right … not a reward. http://tinyurl.com/yhug6wn

Comment by Rob

Many years ago, I had the distinct pleasure of meeting Ms Parton and she was an absolute delight.

Comment by Lee Hill

Player.

Comment by Rob

youre more connected than auntie george. smooth bastard.

Comment by andy@cynic

I love that ‘live a life not a lifestyle’ quote. It still bothers me how much agency folk have to fit in, down to wearing the right clothes.

Comment by Northern

So me wearing Birkenstocks and liking Queen is actually a good thing. That’s what you’re saying isn’t it???

Comment by Rob

Or watching US comedy series when their clients’ customers are rather than years later.

Comment by john

No watches live telly anymore, according to the digital gurus anyway

Comment by Northern

Excellent re-framing of my argument, tolerating Queen is a good thing on the part of your colleagues.
I wear Birkenstocks anyway, so naturally I agree.
In fact come to think of it, I might be forced to wear a Queen t-shirt soon.

Comment by Northern

I’m working on that. It would be the ultimate achievement plus it would mean I’m going to have a great time – so no wonder I’m putting so much effort into it.

Comment by Rob

International Dad Club

Comment by Northern




Leave a Reply

