The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


As We Head In To The Weekend, Let’s All Remember This …
October 10, 2014, 6:15 am
Filed under: Comment

… and I’m not just saying that because I have tattoos and don’t go to Church.

To be honest, I’m fast coming to the opinion that religion is the biggest weapon of mass destruction. I am all for following your beliefs and having strong opinions, but to immediately denounce anyone who has a different point of view is a recipe for disaster – especially when there is so much contradiction and hypocrisy inherent in every religion.

Of course I appreciate not everyone is like this and that for them, their beliefs are a source of comfort and guidance, but if anyone has seen the documentary Jesus Camp, you’ll know that some practitioners view religion almost as a popularity contest and are continually looking for ways to encourage more extreme – or myopic – behaviour, in a bid to ensure they don’t get ‘left behind’.

I’d call it childish if it didn’t have such dangerous ramifications.

If I had my way, I would stop schools teaching religious studies and get them to start studying religion.

Let them see the commonalities amongst faiths … how many share similar views on respecting and helping others and then let the individuals make their own choices rather than have it thrust upon them.

But I know that won’t happen so I suppose I’d just be happy if we taught the importance of context and perspective … which would not only [hopefully] help ensure the best parts of faith are protected [rather than fall victim to religious extremism inflation] but may stop people turning the internet into a place of mass segregation.

Hey, I can dream can’t I?


31 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Amen.

Comment by John

Funny.

Comment by Pete

And now you are dealing with issues of religion. This has been quite the come back of posts Rob, great stuff. I like your thought on studying region in schools rather than teaching religious studies.

I hadn’t thought about it before, but it’s the only class in school that forces you to believe rather than teaches you the skills to learn and discover. I’m going to look up that documentary tonight. May this run of posts continue.

Comment by Pete

when i read your posts i get a glimpse of what society would be like if everyone was fucking nice. and i think how fucking lucky we are were not.

Comment by andy@cynic

I am glad I helped you see how fortunate you are Andy.

Comment by Pete

It won’t Pete, but I appreciate it.

Comment by Rob

I was unaware of Mr. Dibbles, but he looks like an opinionated chap http://www.earldibblesjr.com/

Comment by John

Understatement of 2014.

Comment by Rob

jesus fucking christ. what the fuck happened to you on your 9374th holiday of 2014?

Comment by andy@cynic

I know, I need another holiday to get over it. Boom Tish.

Comment by Rob

your son isnt even fucking born yet and im feeling sorry for him.

Comment by andy@cynic

i hate agreeing with you campbell but i am agreeing with the shit youre bitching about on this post. im going to get hammered to get rid of the fucking shitty taste that is now in my mouth for saying that.

Comment by andy@cynic

I am surprised you didn’t annouce you were God and schools should be studying you. Bonnie has achieved the impossible by helping you mature.

Comment by George

Or it could be he doesn’t believe in God. Didn’t he say something of the sort to an old boss when he wanted to ditch his partner in London or am I imagining this?

Comment by Pete

Working at cynic was a religious experience. Andy was god and the planners were satan.

Comment by Billy Whizz

if you think this will make me give you money, youre more fucked up than i thought you were and i thought you were more fucked up than isis. but you have fucking good judgement.

Comment by andy@cynic

youre a fucking stalker pete. i told snorting steve i wanted to break up with upton on religious grounds. he thought he was god and im a fucking atheist.

Comment by andy@cynic

Hero.

Comment by DH

I remember that day. The screaming and shouting will ring in my ears forever. One of the most exciting days of my career. Ha.

Comment by Rob

Excellent set of posts this week Robert. I am positive they will not continue much longer but I’ve enjoyed them, thought provoking stuff.

Comment by George

You know they won’t George … especially as I’ve just written a post about the state of british chocolate. And not from the business perspective.

Comment by Rob

John Prine’s Some Humans Ain’t Human puts your post to music, good stuff.

Comment by Ciaran McCabe

as long as that fucking music isnt queen.

Comment by andy@cynic

Thanks Ciaran. I hope I haven’t come across as some sort of z-grade Richard Dawkins.

I actually am not that keen on him, mainly because the way he presents himself is as much as a zealot as the people he criticises. I’m just saying that there’s too much religious segmentation when – at least to my uneducated eyes and ears – there’s maybe more similarities than differences and that would be good to celebrate and communicate rather than the ‘us vs them’ attitude embraced by so many religions these days.

PS: I’m talking to Naila next week. Thanks for the intro.

Comment by Rob

Yes he is Robert. I admire his brain but despise his approach.

Comment by Lee Hill

Lovely. You’re little one is going to be very lucky.
(and points of view is still a million times better than the three little pigs- this makes me question myself, three little pigs is just clever)

Comment by Northern

Trust me, he’ll prefer 3 little pigs. I know I would.

When do you start the new job? And just for your info, I’ve officially started the plan to get you wearing a Queen t-shirt. You know what I mean. I hope. Ha.

Comment by Rob

I do! Excellent.
I start working for Sir Sorrell three weeks on Monday. Will be straight into talking about pizza.

Comment by Northern

Win win.

Comment by Rob

word of advice for you northern groper. dont mention campbells name in any fucking conversation or youre going to be fucking fired quicker than the workforce of a recently acquired wpp company. yo can send your cheque to the usual fucking address.

Comment by andy@cynic

I see religion in pretty much the same way and have grown up in a family who has practiced agnostic atheism (ie. doesn’t give a shit). The quote rings true in my opinion – most people who are deeply religious are the ones that judge a book by its cover and will refuse to get into any kind of debate. Their opinion is the only option.

My kid goes to school in Sydney in January and I’m very much thinking about how much/little religion they’re going to teach and it does bother me somewhat. If it’s too heavy and forced down my lads throat – what then? Is it my right to step in? Should I step in? Or is it up to him to form his own opinions? And do I start sending him to school with tatts & pagan novels?

Comment by Oz D




Leave a Reply

