The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


To My Dear Mum …
November 3, 2014, 6:10 am
Filed under: Comment

Happy birthday Mum.

Today you are 82.

EIGHTY TWO.

Amazing.

I know you’re feeling tired and can’t do as much as you once did – or as much as you’d now like – but apart from the fact we’re going to get that sorted soon, you’re still more connected, informed and active than many half your age.

I know I’m not with you today, but I’m so glad we were together a few weeks ago and I’m very excited that the next time I see you, I’ll be able to introduce you to your long awaited [very long awaited] grandson.

But this post isn’t about him, it’s about you.

Maybe I don’t tell you enough, but I owe you so much.

I don’t mean that just because without you I wouldn’t exist, but because you – and Dad – taught me values and skills that have let me live a life that I probably don’t deserve to have.

But of all the things you taught me, there is one that I realise is the most important of all and that is to always be interested in what others are interested in.

It took me a long time to really understand what that meant but now I get it.

I used to think it was just about listening to others but it is so much more than that.

Now I realise that unless you are interested in what others are interested in, you’ll never truly understand their perspectives … their dreams … their pain.

Doing this lets you form a more informed view. Have a broader perspective. A greater level of empathy.

It basically helps you be a better human being and while I have a long way to go, I realise that is the best lesson you could ever be taught and why you are such a special person.

Once upon a time … a very long time ago … you asked me what I felt was the meaning of life.

It was a big question. A heavy question. And while I can’t remember exactly what I said, I am pretty sure I spouted some meaningless twaddle.

But I remember what you said.

I remember it with absolute clarity.

You said that you thought it was to leave the planet in a better place through the values, behaviour and ambitions you have encouraged your children to have.

And I hope I can make you feel you’ve achieved that, because not only is it the least that you deserve, I would never ever want to disappoint you.

You are wonderful.

Not just as a Mum – of which you are perfect – but as a person.

I could ask for nothing more and I just hope I can keep repaying you for the love, support and encouragement you have given – and continue to – give me, especially as the older I get, the more I realise how generous you have been. It’s been more than I deserve and more than many other parents would be to their kids.

I hope I can be half as good as that to my son and if I can, it’s the greatest gift you could give to him.

Happy, happy birthday my dear Mum, I love you so much.

Rx


24 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I always thought your contribution to fashion progressiveness was to bring the mighty birkie to the catwalk. Now I see you were also the inspiration to the Backstreet Boys with the big collar look. Happy birthday Mrs C, it’s your special day but that photo was a gift for me.

Comment by DH

I know … when I saw it, it made me momentarily reconsider how brilliant I thought my parents had made my childhood, but I decided to let them off, history sometimes should be confined to history.

Comment by Rob

And I know that photo is about 35 years old but it’s still weird to see you with hair.

Comment by DH

And not on his face for once.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Why are there so many hands holding you in that pic. Is it because you knew this photo would come back and haunt you or because your parents wanted this photo to come back and haunt you? Must be your parents, I’ve worked with you and know you’re not that good a planner. Happy bday Mrs C, I’ll have a drink for you.

Comment by Billy Whizz

it went something like this.

rob. “let me go, i dont want a photo and i dont want to look like a 40 year old accountant at a nightclub in 1976”.

parents. “stay where you are campbell, we want to embarrass the fuck out of you in later life for all the shit you put us through with queen and those fucking awful shoes”.

zoom forward 30+ years. voila. job fucking done.

Comment by andy@cynic

Have you got a time machine? Uncanny.

Comment by Rob

Best wishes for today Mrs Campbell. You raised him well.

Comment by George

I wish I could be as open as you Rob. Very touching and I am sure your Mum will be very happy to read it. Happy birthday Mrs Campbell, I hope you have a great day.

Comment by Pete

mrs c, mrs c, how can it be your birthday again? didnt you have one a week ago? you look amazing for your years and whatever is going on with your tiredness, youre still more athletic than your son and 93.25% of america. i hope campbell has given you more than this post. a whole lot more. so knock back some g&ts and get birthday smashed.

Comment by andy@cynic

i did not swear in my comment. that is my gift to you and shows how much i respect you which is a shed load more than i respect anyone else on here. not as good as the present you gave me of the photo of your son looking freaky angelic, but still good. very good.

Comment by andy@cynic

Impressive. And no less than my Mum deserves.

Comment by Rob

yes she fucking does. especially in the son stakes.

Comment by andy@cynic

Happy Birthday Mrs C.

Comment by John

Happy birthday Mrs Campbell. I hope Rob updated all your Apple products for your birthday.

Comment by Bazza

She has them Baz so stop sounding like a used car salesman.

Comment by Rob

Salesmen crashing birthday parties sounds more Amway than Apple …

Comment by Ian Gee

You don’t know Baz, Ian. Hahaha.

Comment by Rob

Happy Birthday, Mrs. Campbell.

Comment by Ciaran McCabe

[…] The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!] […]

Pingback by To My Pricey Mum … | Posts

Happy Birthday Mrs. Campbell. Hope you are having a great day…

Comment by niko

Many happy returns Mrs Campbell.

Comment by Lee Hill

Hope all is OK with the tragic events of the weekend. Well, not OK, but you know what I mean.

Comment by Rob

[…] I wrote here, you had a clear point of view on what you thought it […]

Pingback by The Answer To Life … | The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]




Leave a Reply

