The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Don’t Compare Me To You. Freaks.
February 12, 2015, 6:25 am
Filed under: Crap Campaigns In History, Crap Marketing Ideas From History!

I’ve written about how delusional some brands can be.

Well guess what, I’m going to write about it again.

Admittedly, what I’m about to talk about is now where near as mental as that Costa ‘coffee hub’ bollocks, but it’s bad all the same.

So a few weeks ago, I was reading a magazine, a music mag, when I came across this:

Yes, it really is an ad for a leaf blower.

In a music magazine.

But that’s not the mental thing … oh no … what’s mental is the strapline used by Stihl.

“We Share Your Passion”

What the fuck are you talking about.

You think I like blowing leaves around?

Are you insane?

Of all the things I could possibly do, blowing leaves around is probably in the last 10% of my list – and that’s only that high because I am imagining a mountain of piled up leaves that I can blow into the garden of all the people I hate.

If Stihl really share my passion, then they would be talking about Queen, Birkenstocks, stupid gadgets and – despite ruining my life – Nottingham Forest … but they don’t which means this is another bullshit line designed by a planner who claimed it would help convey ‘a human voice’ as well as drive ‘engagement’ with their target audience when in reality, all it does is massively alienate and cause ridicule.

And that’s before you take into account they placed this in a bloody Rock music magazine.

Of course, maybe I’m wrong.

Let’s face it, I’m not the target audience so maybe this line – and this ad – is the product of extensive and exhaustive research … proven to appeal strongly to a very distinct group of leaf-blowing addicts. Though if it is, I have to tell the people of Stihl that I’m not sure hanging their longterm, sustainable future on selling products to the mentally deranged or Stihl employees is the smartest move they could make.

But all that aside, this still doesn’t escape the very fact that this all ends up saying far more about my choice of music and magazine than it does about their choice of target audience.

Damnit.


24 Comments so far
Leave a comment

youre so much fucking more enjoyable when youre a petty fucking pedantic bastard.

Comment by andy@cynic

Almost readable.

Comment by DH

Sorry Rob, but I agree with Andy and Dave. It also sounds much more like the person I used to work with.

Comment by Pete

I believe that is referred to as a “backhanded compliment”.

Comment by George

Yes it is George. Yes it is.

I’d expect it from those two, but Pete? WTF!?

Comment by Rob

Sorry Rob. I still stand by what I said though. ; )

Comment by Pete

a magazine about that shitty heavy metal bollocks you like is not a music magazine campbell.

Comment by andy@cynic

But it is a magazine for blowhards. Boom tish. The neighbour wars would make quite an amusing ad. They’d become the Red Bull of garden implements. Or something.

Comment by John

are you saying campbell has inadvertently had a good idea? never fucking ever make that mistake again doddsy.

Comment by andy@cynic

Of course not. I’m saying that from the midst of a planner’s crazy ramblings I was able to extract a “thought” and redirect it. You must have experience of that.

Comment by John

Gold.

Comment by DH

The secret to winning neighbor battles in fall.

Comment by Pete

But can we all agree it was still my idea.

Comment by Rob

youre very antiplanner at the moment. finally you can see what ive felt fucking violated for the past twenty fucking years.

Comment by andy@cynic

Only someone in advertising could write “convey ‘a human voice’ as well as drive ‘engagement’ with their target audience”. Luckily you are ridiculing it or there would be no hope for you.

Comment by Bazza

you used to write that fucking shit bazza. never fucking forget that. i wont. unless you throw me a few decent freebies.

Comment by andy@cynic

So are you saying Apple never say that sort of rubbish Baz?

Comment by DH

apple might not but bazza sure as fucking shit would.

Comment by andy@cynic

I don’t like this comment thread.

Comment by Bazza

Who says the Germans don’t have a sense of humour.

Comment by George

Excellent. Though it could also mean planners are a joke.

[No need to respond folks, I already know your answer]

Comment by Rob

I was going to write and say you were being harsh on this advertisement. Then I remembered it was all for a simple leaf blower and realised doing that would be harsh on you.

Comment by Lee Hill

I’m glad you came to that conclusion Lee. I’d hate to have to disown you.

Comment by Rob

lee could call you a midget fucker and you still wouldnt disown him because you know the moment you do that, youre an economy fucking nobody like the rest of us. so go for it lee, call him everyfuckingthing you want. youre good for it and the blagging bastard will fucking take it.

Comment by andy@cynic




Leave a Reply

