The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Rejection With Icing On Top …
June 5, 2015, 6:15 am
Filed under: Embarrassing Moments

So when I was at home cleaning out my Mum’s house, I came across all sorts of stuff.

From every birthday card I had sent my parents.

To old diaries.

To old photos.

And to old letters.

Not love letters. Not family letters. Just letters.

God knows why I/Mum kept them, but as I was chucking them away, I came across this:

Yes, it’s a rejection letter from a bank.

A BANK!!!

An organisation that takes anyone so they can pile mountains of debt on their life.

OK, so this was 1991, but even then, it was pretty rare.

What’s worse is that it wasn’t for a credit card … oh no … it was just to open an account.

That’s right, I got denied the ability to open a bank account.

How bad is that!

Well it gets, errrrm, badder.

Why?

Because First Direct were my clients at the time so I was literally turned away by people who were paying me to make more money for them.

How mental is that?

I remember when I told them what had happened, they pissed themselves.

Literally laughed in my face.

And they still didn’t sort me out. They did the whole “the computer say’s’ no”, bullshit.

Of course, if it happened now, I wouldn’t be surprised given they’re owned by my banking nemesis, HSBC … however back then, at a time where they wanted to position themselves as the ‘bank that cares about their customers’, it was horrible and gave me an early indication that the relationship you have with your client directly relates to the quality of work you do together.


28 Comments so far
Leave a comment

that was the best fucking day ever. i still remember your bottom lip wobbling. for a fucking bank. sad twat.

Comment by andy@cynic

I’m impressed with your memory. And how sad you are.

Comment by Rob

best bit of positive pr for banks in fucking years.

Comment by andy@cynic

When banks considered if you pay them back before realizing they could just sell your debt to idiots.

Comment by DH

So, what financial misdeeds did the credit reference agency know about?

Comment by John

It was related to gadgets wasn’t it?

Comment by John

shall i call you inspector fucking morse now?

Comment by andy@cynic

The funny thing is that when we checked, we discovered they had included details of another R Campbell in my file which had skewed my credit rating. I say that, but I never applied again for fear of being rejected twice.

Comment by Rob

Now he has enough gold pieces to buy a bank. Life sucks the fat one.

Comment by Billy Whizz

And I’m not talking Dirk Diggler’s dick. Or Rob’s best friend.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Thanks for that image.

Comment by Rob

More embarrassing than the time we caught a flight together and you turned left and I turned right?

Comment by Lee Hill

you know we would have charged you for his fucking flight dont you. where the fuck is your self respect? why didnt you fire us. or at least mr little fucking prince.

Comment by andy@cynic

Smart move Lee.

Comment by John

Gold.

Comment by DH

It’s not as bad as the time George spent christmas at Necker and Lee wasn’t even invited. #agencywin

Comment by DH

Oh yes, that’s a whole different level of embarassing.

Comment by Rob

You know perfectly well why that happened Lee. But yes, it was mortifying … right until I sat in my big seat. Ha.

Comment by Rob

“Give your wife my best, I know I did”.

Comment by Bazza

you might be small but youre a fucking giant in evil shit bazza.

Comment by andy@cynic

I WAS ON MEDICATION WHEN I SAID THAT.

Comment by Rob

And in traction afterwards?

Comment by John

so whats your excuse for all the other times youve been a stupid fucking fuck?

Comment by andy@cynic

I thought the whole point of First Direct that it was phone and internet based?

But no, they send you a LETTER telling you to sod off?

Amazing …

Comment by Ian Gee

lol the paper copy syndrome. they may be internet based but they want to be sure they have paper copies of every damn communication they send or get “just in case” and in the brave new world of hackers and creepy crawlers, you cant hardly blame them none..

Comment by judyt54

1991.

Comment by Wayne Green

Lol good point.

Comment by judyt54

Hey Rob, my condolences for your mum. About this, same reaction, how odd is it to just..open an account!?

Comment by Thuymi @ AdventureFaktory.com




Leave a Reply

