The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Some People Use Tinder To Find People To Handcuff Then F**k Them For A Few Years …
June 24, 2015, 6:20 am
Filed under: Comment, Sexism, Social Media, Technology, Tinder

So a few weeks ago, I saw an entry on Facebook from a friend of mine who is a policeman in Nottingham.

This was it:

I have to be honest, I love it.

I don’t know if they found the guys profile because there’s a copper at the station who is looking for dates rather than robbers – or whether it is part of their overall approach to finding [alleged] criminals – but I think it’s ace.

It’s a bit similar – but not very much – to that story from years ago where a US Police department sent some fake “you’ve won money” letter to the homes of criminals that had avoided capture.

They were betting on the fact that someone in the house would let them about their ‘good fortune’ and let them know they did, because on a particular date, at a particular venue, they turned up to collect their cash only to collect some handcuffs and a prison sentence.

In one day, a bunch of crimes were cleared up simply because the cops knew people find it hard to turn down something free – especially when it’s valuable [and especially when you’re a criminal who does that sort of thing for a living] and that trying something different was worth giving a go when so many traditional approach end with nothing.

Lovely stuff.

But back to Tinder.

So for the last 12+ months, I’ve been on Tinder talking to men and women on Tinder about their experiences.

[Don’t worry, the wife knows and I say on my profile that I’m a happily married man. Besides, with my face, who the hell would swipe right on me?!]

I have to be honest, it’s been fascinating, especially when you start seeing the differences of the audience when you compare who is on it in say, China, to those on it in say, Portland.

I’ll be writing this all up in the next few months, but frankly, if you are a woman – and it’s mainly women – who enter the crazy world of Tinder dating in the hope of finding ‘the one’, you may end up feeling more disillusioned and disappointed than when you were at home on a Saturday evening eating Ben & Jerry’s in front of the television.

Watching Bridget Jones.

You see while Tinder makes it easy to “search” thanks to their gamification operating system, it appears that within hours of usage, people [read: men] forget they’re dealing with humans and their emotions and go cold – either in how they judge a potential match or what they do when they’ve connected. [Which seems to involve either asking for sex, sending a plethora of ‘dick pics’ or not making contact at all!]

Of course not everyone is like that and there’s been many relationships formed through an initial interaction with Tinder, but the evidence so far suggests there’s far more disappointment being created between people than emotional fulfilment. At least if you are going on there for pure reasons.

We shall see how things turn out over the next few months – as well as if this finding is something that is relative across geographies or more prevalent in certain countries [which definitely seems the case at this moment in time] – but like with everything in life, for every product that is hyped as being ‘revolutionary’, there is often a dark side that exists, even if it takes a few hours/weeks/months/years to present itself.

By all means am I not knocking what Tinder does/has achieved, I’m just highlighting that behind the headlines, you often find a far more interesting bunch of stories … as Nottinghamshire Police are also demonstrating.

That said, the Tinder for kids names – developed by, I think, an ad agency creative – is sheer bloody genius.

I wish I’d known about it when we were choosing Otis’ name … though I doubt I’d of managed to convince Jill to go with Ziggy, even if she had flicked right.

Which she wouldn’t have.

Bugger.


22 Comments so far
Leave a comment

who gives a fuck about nottingham coppers when you could be talking about hot desperate housewives wanting some extra curricular activities and sad businessmen twats thinking theyre james fucking bond. and you say you know people. bullshit.

Comment by andy@cynic

Well I haven’t found any desperate housewives [the women all tend to be pretty honest] but I’ve found many men – or been told about them – that think they are James Bond when they’re really just a married insurance broker from Slough. Or the local equivalent.

It’s fascinating and tragic all at the same time.

Comment by Rob

Your face is the reason Jill is OK with you being on Tinder.

Comment by DH

Face for radio.
And horror movies.

Comment by Billy Whizz

his face is a fucking horror movie.

Comment by andy@cynic

And I find it weird nottingham police use photos of the guy they want to arrest but don’t publish his name. Is it a game where they don’t want to make it too easy for themselves or is this the real reason your home town is criminalville?

Comment by DH

I hadn’t noticed that. Maybe it’s a legal thing. Maybe they’re just idiots.

Comment by Rob

If I was the Nottingham police, I’d open a tinder account and promise women a constant update of men who they should look out for.

Comment by George

not fucking bad bryant. not fucking bad. what would be better is if they signed up pretending to be a hot chick, get swiped left by the crim, meet him for a drink and arrest the bastard.

then that would also be exactly like the fucking example campbell made a big deal of in his post about the us cops. before they made a living of killing innocent black kids.

Comment by andy@cynic

Except the one I wrote about arrested multiple criminals at once whereas your idea would only let them arrest succeed one-at-a-time.

Comment by Rob

That’s nice. I like that. I’m also going to steal it.

Comment by Rob

Has this overtaken your prostitute survey Robert or do you still do that as well.
Jill is a very understanding wife.

Comment by George

or she doesnt give a fuck about him.

Comment by andy@cynic

Not nearly as regularly as I used to George. I’m still in touch with them, but it’s now once every 6 months or so and done via email and Skype rather than hotel bars.

Don’t forget, I am a father now. Haha.

Comment by Rob

Or Otis makes you so tired you want to be in bed by 7pm. Don’t fret Robert, it only last 18 years.

Comment by George

Yes, that is the main reason.

I’ve never gone to bed so early and been so tired at the same time. Ha.

Comment by Rob

This sounds really interesting Rob. When do you think you will be writing it up as I’d love to have a copy if that’s possible.

Comment by Pete

In a couple of months Pete – I’ll make sure you get a copy. I’m quite excited about it to be honest, but then I would say that wouldn’t I. Ha.

Comment by Rob

Has someone done a parallel study on Momo. Isn’t that one of your clients?

Comment by Bryan

Yes I have. Yes there were similar findings [though there were also a lot more people repurposing the use of Momo to achieve other things … from selling fridges, forming coffee groups and errrm, offering “other services”] and sadly, Momo are not with us any more.

Comment by Rob

Fuck ’em. Momo that is, not the people offering ‘other services’. But I’m not going to tell you how to live your life

Comment by Bryan

So happy hear you talk about this, I literally also use tinder to survey people and it gives extra hits to the blog! haha

Comment by Thuymi @ AdventureFaktory.com




Leave a Reply

