The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Loyalty Isn’t A Paycheck ….
August 6, 2015, 6:15 am
Filed under: Comment

One of the things that drives me insane is when a footballer kisses the badge of his club – indicating his love for the team he is playing for – only to move to another club within months and start kissing that badge like a lust-ridden teenager at the school disco.

Of course, when they are kissing the badge of your team, you love them.

Yesssssssss.

You are united in your passion for your club.

Determined to be there through thick and thin.

Committed to the cause.

Sure there may be tough times, but with unity and belief, you can achieve anything.

And then the fucker demands a move to get more money and you feel like the hardworking wife who has been left by your bastard husband for the younger, hotter bitch from the accounts department.

Which is why I was warmed to see this article on German footballer, Marcell Jansen, who at 29 has said he’d rather retire than play for another club.

Yes, I know he probably has enough cash in the bank already to be able to do that and yes, I know that when a club doesn’t renew your contract – especially at that age – it tends to mean they’re not very good … but in an industry that makes adland’s money-grabbing ways look almost gentile, I think that’s a very impressive gesture, especially given he was offered well paying contracts at other clubs.

When I was younger, I used to think footballers who complained about not playing were idiots.

There they were, sitting on the bench, earning thousands of pounds a week and yet they were complaining.

But as I have got older, I have learnt the importance of fulfilment.

Admittedly, this is something that was drilled into me by my parents, but I only really understood what it meant in the last 10 years or so which is why I now totally understand why someone would want to move clubs so they could play or even stop playing altogether so that they could ensure their most precious moments aren’t damaged.

Without going into too many details, I was recently offered a very big job and I turned it down.

Not because I didn’t think I could do it … not because I don’t like the idea of earning amazing amounts of money … not even because I had recently become a Dad and I was concerned this may impact how much time I would get to spend with my family … I turned it down because it meant I would be removed from creating.

I know everyone thinks I do no work and I appreciate ‘creating advertising’ is hardly the sort of work 99% of the planet have to do … but for me, I am at my most happy when I’m working with talented individuals creating something that will change something.

I love it.

It makes me insanely happy.

I find the whole journey of creativity infectious.

Part of the reason I love Wieden is that even though I am in a supposed ‘senior position’, I have to ‘do stuff’.

Yes, part of that is managing … people, departments, clients, the agency as a whole … but part of it is actually making stuff happen and the thought of not doing that anymore – being an observer rather than a contributor – is something I couldn’t let happen because the implications on my personal fulfilment are not worth any of the supposed additional benefits.

That doesn’t mean I don’t want to lead.

That doesn’t mean I don’t still have a bunch of incredible ambitions.

That doesn’t mean I don’t want to help my colleagues grow and develop.

But there is also something very magical for me in the development of ideas … working with people who open doors of possibility and opportunity you hadn’t previously seen and vice versa … which is why as I move forward in my life, the guiding principals in making my decisions will never be purely about how much money I will earn or how much power I can wield, but whether I will feel fulfilled.

It’s this principal that pushed me to take – and pass – my teacher qualifications, because I wanted to ensure I can always be involved in the creation and development of ideas [and people] and it is why I look at the decision of Marcell Jansen with respect rather than derision.


32 Comments so far
Leave a comment

1) He was let go by a team that just avoided relegation so, as much as he says there were lots of offers around, I’m sceptical.

2) He kissed the badge of three teams – each of whom eventually dropped him.

3) Good post.

Comment by John

he sounds like a wpp managing director except replace the word badge for ring.

Comment by andy@cynic

Do players kiss or spit on the forest badge?

Comment by DH

their badge is the only good thing about those fuckers.

Comment by andy@cynic

Soon the World will kiss their badge. Oh yes.

http://tinyurl.com/qg3cype

Comment by Rob

Good post but it’s easier to say you choose jobs based on how creative you can be when you have oodles of gold at home. But it’s good and I accept you were always infatigueable when it came to the work. I even accept you will be a great teacher but I will never accept you do any work at Wieden.

Comment by DH

oodles of gold stolen from fucking me.

Comment by andy@cynic

that was the only energetic thing about the annoying bastard.

Comment by andy@cynic

I’m just going to read the [backhanded] compliment you’ve given, mainly because I know it’s the best I’ll ever get from out of you.

Comment by Rob

Last thing. For someone who has amazing amounts of money, what does a job offering amazing amounts of money mean. How much exactly? You can even just say what number it begins with and I’ll try not to be sick.

Comment by DH

dont fucking do it to yourself dave. youll want to kill yourself when you know when you should be killing campbell and the twats who offer him so much for getting so fucking little back in return.

Comment by andy@cynic

I just want to know so I can make sure my 401 doesn’t invest with them.

Comment by DH

Create:

1. Bring (something) into existence.

2 Britishinformal
make a fuss; complain.
“little kids create because they hate being ignored”

Comment by John

Are you making a declaration on the birth of my son, John?

Comment by Rob

I’m simply commenting on planning and creativity.

Comment by John

As nice as it is to read about a footballer who possesses some kind of loyalty, the best part of this post is hearing the excitement you continue to have when you are creating. Few people get paid well for what they love and it’s good to read you appreciate that and won’t be swayed away from it. Until you take up your teaching position. Then it is job satisfaction at the expense of financial satisfaction. Oh well, you will have had a good run.

Comment by George

This is one of the many reasons I don’t watch sports. (Besides the fact that it’s f***ing boring and I’d rather be watching a good movie) The players do NOT represent YOU. (Yet people act like it, religiously.) No time for that!

Comment by domingosaurus

That depends on what movies you watch. If they anything with Keanu, Costner or Cage you’re kidding yourself.

Comment by DH

Well to be honest I watch all kinds of movies, but in general, the movies that star those three, I only watch once. (and wish I hadn’t.) That being said I can name at least one movie each of them has been in that I thoroughly enjoy. (and will watch multiple times) Keanu: Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure, Costner: For Love of the Game (I know a sports movie, which may seem like irony in a way, yet the movie os oddly compelling.) and Cage: Raising Arizona.

Comment by domingosaurus

So you’re saying every sport and the athletes that participate in them are all boring?
That’s very sad if you think that way.

Comment by George

Thank you! đŸ™‚

Comment by domingosaurus

Yeah, sport is so dull. Never any excitement. And the athletes never do anything impressive. But Nick Cage? I’m always on the edge of my seat when he acts in another b-grade flick.

Comment by Bazza

First, thanks for commenting Domingosaurus. And like you, I am a massive lover of film [especially documentaries where I have 5000+ of the things] … but to say sports – and athletes – are “fucking boring” is both generalist and, to be honest, a bit mental.

While there are many sports – and athletes – that I find painful to watch, there have been many more movies that underwhelmed me and as brilliant and powerful and moving as some films are, nothing can beat the tension and excitement of a great sporting event with athletes trying their best to win because unlike Hollywood, you can’t always guess what the outcome will be.

Each to their own I know, but it’s a bit mad to claim all sport and athletes are bad. That’s like saying all books are mind numbing and I think there’s 100,000,000 Harry Potter fans that would argue with that.

Comment by Rob

Because you earn less than a polish potato picker.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Prostitutes are loyal for a pay check. For all the research you’ve done with them, I’m surprised you don’t know that.

Comment by Bazza

There’s a quote about that payment that suggests it has nothing to do with loyalty.

Comment by John

charlie fucking sheen.

Comment by andy@cynic

Dashiel Hammett

Comment by John

fucking intellectual.

Comment by andy@cynic

An enjoyable post Robert. But, similar to George, I found your explanation on what constitutes job satisfaction the most enjoyable part.

Comment by Lee Hill

you mean the bit where he gets paid fuckloads but does no work? where the fuck do i get that job?

Comment by andy@cynic

Wieden Shanghai.

Comment by DH




Leave a Reply

