The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


When Respect And Culture Come Together, It Creates Unstoppable Emotion.
August 27, 2015, 6:10 am
Filed under: Culture, Death, Empathy, Human Goodness, Love, Peace

I could say I am posting this because tomorrow is going to be a bittersweet day for me [more on that, unsurprisingly, tomorrow] but the reality is I’m posting it because it’s beautiful and moving and incredibly powerful.

First a bit of background.

A teacher in a school in New Zealand recently died.

To honour him, around 1700 kids from Palmerston North Boys High School performed the traditional dance – the haka – as his hearse rolled into the school on the way to his funeral.

It is one of the most powerful and meaningful ways I’ve ever seen someone be told, “goodbye, we will miss you”.

Their teacher would be proud.

I was.


12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That is amazing. Very moving but amazing.

Comment by Pete

Don’t know what is going on, I hope all is well. This is a powerful and memorable tribute to a teacher that was obviously adored. Brilliant stuff by the students and school.

Comment by George

When you see tomorrow’s post, you’ll know all is fine … I’m just being sentimental as usual. You’re right about this being brilliant stuff by the students and school. And the family of the bereaved. Very powerful stuff.

Comment by Rob

i always thought the haka was like some fucking bad amateur dramatics version of the creature beneath the sea but this nearly brought a tear to my glass fucking eye.

Comment by andy@cynic

theres something fucking sad seeing teenagers in school shorts though. but not as sad as seeing some pensioner in them. like the twat in your fucking beloved ac dc.

Comment by andy@cynic

Thanks for that. Nice to see you haven’t been totally lost in a sea of emotion. Except where the wife and Bonnie are concerned.

Comment by Rob

Very moving.

Comment by Lee Hill

I thought the students were screaming abuse until the camera panned over. It’s very emotional isn’t it. Did you cry Rob?

Comment by Bazza

of course he fucking did. he cries when a fucking queen album finishes.

Comment by andy@cynic

Not full-on cry, but tears were definitely in my eyes when I first watched it. And when I watched it again. And again.

Comment by Rob

Awesome. Sent by a friend last week. Know the haka from being an Irish rugby fan, swearing at the All Blacks for winning – again.
This time I cried. Wonderful.

Comment by Ciaran McCabe

That made me cry.

Comment by Marcus




Leave a Reply

