The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


And You Thought She Was Just A Big Pair Of Tits …
September 7, 2015, 6:20 am
Filed under: A Bit Of Inspiration, Comment, Entertainment, Music

I love Dolly Parton.

Love her.

Not because of her breasts.

Not because of her brilliant quotes like, “it costs a lot of money to look this cheap”.

Not because she started the amazing Dollywood.

OK, well, part of it is for all those reasons.

But the main one is this.

She is a fucking awesome singer songwriter.

Seriously awesome.

I was recently reminded of this fact when someone played me her song ‘Jolene’.

God that’s a good song.

But it was better than just that. You see my friend played me this clip of the song being played at 33rpm instead of 45 rpm and you know what … she is such a good singer and such a good songwriter that even though it was slower and her voice sounded deeper, it was still sharp, melodic and in possession of a guitar riff most bands would kill for.

So Dolly, may the rest of this week be as good as this song, whether I play it slow or fast.


19 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hotdog

Comment by lbeth1950

Outside of the US, Dolly is a very underrated singer and songwriter. Inside, despite her forays in theme parks and mildly entertaining movies, she is seen as a musical institution and so she should be. Excellent find Robert.

Comment by Lee Hill

Oh come on Lee, ‘9 to 5’ is a fun movie. Well, my memory is telling me it is but as I have found out quite a lot recently, my memory is a lying piece of crap.

Comment by Rob

Alzheimers.

Comment by DH

She’s great but that 33rpm version of the song is awful. And I’m sure she’d tell you that. Because if it wasn’t, she’d have written the song in a slower time signature.

Anyway, this old clip is not the most interesting thing about her. Apparently, she’s about to introduce her husband to the world at their wedding anniversary gig.

Comment by John

I agree that the 33rpm isn’t very good but compared to how other singers and songs may sound slowed down, I imagine this has more tonal clarity and music recognizability which speaks to her vocal and songwriting skill. Well, if does if what I have said is true.

Comment by George

You didn’t just argue in favour of making something slightly less crap than the competition did you?

Comment by John

id rather listen to this shit than queens fucking bohemian rhapsody at the right fucking speed. or any one direction shit.

Comment by andy@cynic

yes he fucking did. wanker.

Comment by andy@cynic

I did. I am ashamed. My only excuse is I’ve had a very busy Sunday and my brain was resting.

Comment by George

I don’t think her 33rpm is that bad especially as IT IS NOT BEING PLAYED AT THE RIGHT SPEED. Jesus, you’re all so bloody judgemental when poor Dolly is innocent in all this.

Oh – and for the [excuse the pun] record – she still plays a slowed down version of the song live and it sounds amazing. Even better than when you hear the ORIGINAL SONG PLAYED AT A SLOWER SPEED.

Simon Cowell knows who to call when he needs a stand-in.

Comment by Rob

Well done on putting people in their place Robert. Quite right too.

Comment by Lee Hill

I remember when I first moved to America, I was told Ms Parton was the rednecks sex symbol. Maybe that is true, but she’s also talented, funny and self aware.

Comment by George

She’s self-aware and doesn’t care. That’s an awesome combination.

Comment by Rob

You’re back. This week is going to suck.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I have some semi-good news for you later in the week then Billy.

Comment by Rob

theyre a pretty magnificent set of tits though. they stand fucking taller than you do campbell, but then so does a fucking boomerang.

Comment by andy@cynic

She once said it costs a lot of money to look that trashy. I knew that already, I saw what you wore to work for 4 years.

Comment by DH

It actually works surprisingly well. The slower pace gives it a groove, even if her voice sounds a little weird slowed down.
The mark of a classic song is how well it can be covered, and both the White Stripes and Queen Adrena did amazing cover versions of this.
I wonder how many Americans would hate me if I said she was, in a way, sort of a female Johnny Cash.

Comment by Rob (other one)




Leave a Reply

