The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


If You Thought The Fashion Industry Was Weird Before …
November 17, 2015, 6:00 am
Filed under: Crap Marketing Ideas From History!, Design

So a few weeks ago, I was walking through a shopping mall when I came across these …

Now I appreciate as someone who never wears socks because he always wears Birkenstocks, I may be missing the point, however I have a few questions I’m hoping you can answer for me.

1. What exactly are ‘fashion socks’?
2. Why does the packaging feature men talking on the phone?
3. Are the men actually talking to each other and comparing notes?
4. If the socks are ‘fashion’ garments, why are the models wearing boring suits?
5. Am I taking some dodgy sock packaging way too seriously and need to shut the hell up?

Answers gratefully received. Thank you.


20 Comments so far
Leave a comment

another shortish fucking post.
a man(?) who doesnt wear socks writing about socks.
what the fuck is going on. what the fuck are up to?

Comment by andy@cynic

and what gives you the fucking right to rip the piss out of them when you know fuck all about socks or fashion.

Comment by andy@cynic

It hasn’t stopped him before. Look at this blog.

Comment by DH

That just about sums it up Dave.

Comment by Rob

answer to point 5. yes. now shut the fuck up.

Comment by andy@cynic

The socks are less offensive than your Birkenstocks and their suits are less offensive than any of the 10,000 tshirts in your wardrobe. Just saying….

Comment by DH

I have 100 t-shirts. But yes, you do have a point.

Comment by Rob

and every one of them is some contrived ironic bollocks. you sad fucking twat.

Comment by andy@cynic

There is something very wrong about you writing about socks. I don’t know why, but I find this worse than your posts about Paul’s “unique parts”.

Comment by Pete

I will show you this post in years to come Pete and you will see there is something very wrong with you to compare writing about socks as ‘worse’ than writing about my best friends best part.

Comment by Rob

If I looked like them, I’d wear the socks over my face.

Comment by Billy Whizz

You’re not that far off looking like them to be honest.

Comment by Rob

Fuck. You.

Comment by Billy Whizz

At least I look like a man.

Comment by Billy Whizz

with the standard of lady ive seen you underwhelm over the fucking years, you should have put the sock over their head. it would stay on much better than the paper fucking bag.

Comment by andy@cynic

Fashion brand marketing is the most trippy marketing of all. I am unsure whether socks qualify as fashion, but the claims on the packaging make a good case for them.

Comment by George

Any comment from rob on fashion or socks is disqualified
And as for fashion socks, I had some ladies from Cosmo talking to me about this seasons body shape. I can’t believe folks are now pressured to change their bloody body shape

Comment by Northern

You only disqualify Rob’s comments on socks and fashion?

Comment by DH

I’m being polite

Comment by Northern




Leave a Reply

