The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


All You Need Is Love. Unless They Don’t Love You … Then All You Need Is Prozac …
February 22, 2016, 6:15 am
Filed under: A Bit Of Inspiration, Attitude & Aptitude, Comment, Love

One of my favourite television programmes is Peep Show.

I love it. If you haven’t seen it before, you should check it out – especially as the last series has just aired on TV.

There are many reasons I love it, but one of them is the brilliance of the characters, Mark and Jez … played by real life best friends, David Mitchell and Robert Web,

David Mitchell is – in real life – a bit of a clever clogs, the next generation of Stephen Fry perhaps.

That said, for all his smarts, he has been honest about his insecurities – from how he looked, to his social awkwardness to the back pain that debilitated him for many, many years.

Recently he got married … to the smart and beautiful, Victoria Coren.

The thing that is wonderful about this story – beyond the fact that it’s always lovely when people in love get together – is that he had secretly loved her from afar for years.

The feeling of unrequited love is one of the most painful of them all.

The feeling of loving someone and them not even realising it – let alone knowing it – is one of the cruelest things we can do to ourselves.

[It goes without saying that loving someone and them loving you back is the best feeling on earth. After maybe, Forest winning]

Anyway, as I said, Mr Mitchell and Ms Coren got together eventually and I recently found this video where he talks openly about his transition from aching love to shared joy.

It’s loving, thoughtful, gentle and honest and given it’s a Monday – in the official month of love – I thought we could all do with starting the week on a nice note.

No, I don’t know what’s got into me either.


14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

it was only a matter of fucking time till you totally lost it.

time to change the name of this shot to opinions of a mills and boon twatfuck.

Comment by andy@cynic

Poor Jill.

Comment by DH

i always imagine doddsy as david mitchell type. hell probably admit he wrote romance novels for barbara fucking cartland now. what the fuck is wrong with you people.

Comment by andy@cynic

the mitchell association is a compliment doddsy. or it was till i found out mr peep show is a c grade romeo.

Comment by andy@cynic

Only c grade?

Comment by DH

I love that you thought of John like David Mitchell. I see the similarity, except John is much taller. Or much taller than I imagine David Mitchell to be.

Comment by Rob

I’m guessing the real reason you like this is not because of the quest for romance but because he’s almost as sentimental as you are and it makes you feel slightly less alienated. How is that for an insight?

Comment by DH

Not bad. You could make a bad planner yet.

Comment by Rob

I stopped being interested in peep show when I found out it wasn’t about stalkers.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Something tells me you’re being serious in this comment.

Comment by Rob

I always am.

Comment by Billy Whizz

I listened to the whole thing. It’s very nice. You describe it well Robert. What I found interesting is that the whole piece feels very David Mitchell while also having the effect of being very unDavid Mitchell. I don’t quite understand how he pulled that off.

Comment by George

Ignore everyone Robert, I agree with George, the way David Mitchell expresses the range of emotions he experienced before finally uniting with the woman he loves is delightful.

Comment by Lee Hill

“The feeling of loving someone and them not even realising it – let alone knowing it – is one of the cruelest things we can do to ourselves.”

Been there, done that. One of the biggest learnings of my life so far🙂

Going to listen to it tonight, I’m curious now.

Have a nice week!

Comment by Ste




Leave a Reply

