The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Happy Birthday Freddie …
September 5, 2016, 6:15 am
Filed under: A Bit Of Inspiration, Anniversary, Comment, Death, Emotion, History, Music

Today would have been Mr Mercury’s 70th birthday.

SEVENTY.

If he was alive, I very much doubt he would be touring with Queen.

He would probably still be their singer, but he would only be making music with them, not performing it.

I would imagine that if he was going to perform, it would be more in terms of opera, as he did with Montserrat Caballé … because it offered him a chance to still command a stage, but without the need to run around in a leotard.

But he isn’t alive. He died at 45.

FORTY FIVE.

Which means I am older than he was when he passed away.

Things like that freak me out to be honest.

Both in terms of comparing what I have achieved in my life versus what he achieved in his [which is stupid, I know] and the reminder that life isn’t forever.

But that’s a post for another day, today I simply say ‘Happy Birthday Mr Mercury’ and thank him for the memories and the music.

God, I’m such a sad bastard.


15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

He’s so old he’s got a blue plaque.

Comment by John

I’m not a Queen fan but I was sad when Freddie died, but it also ensured his legacy and I have a feeling that is something he would have liked. I take it you will be wearing one of your extensive collection of Queen tshirts today Robert.

Comment by George

i think he would rather be alive than die a fucking painful death at 45 with all those paparazzi fucks watching.

Comment by andy@cynic

He’s been dead 25 years? I feel so old right now.

Comment by Pete

Worse, he’s still achieved more than us in the 25 years he’s been dead.

Comment by Rob

This is your christmas present for eternity.
http://tinyurl.com/guwmyjj

Comment by Bazza

2 fucking photos? sounds about right for you, you tight bastard.

Comment by andy@cynic

Don’t be mean Andy, that’s more than he’s ever given me before.

Comment by Rob

I feel really inspired right now.

Comment by Pete

Did you mean to put your comment here Pete? I’d have thought it would have been more relevant under the ‘Freddie’s done more in the 25 years he’s been dead than we have alive’.

Comment by Rob

Seems your memory is getting even older than you are Rob.

Comment by Bazza

I had a Queen T-shirt many eons again. It’s gone but I’m still loving the music. Happy b’day!

Comment by BoomingOn

you should talk to campbell then, he has 3 of every one they ever made. if they came with wifi, hed have 4.

Comment by andy@cynic

No. Just 2 of each. [Not really BoomingOn]

Comment by Rob

when i look at the shit that passes off as rockstars these days, i start to like freddie. not his must, that was overblown bollocks, just him.

Comment by andy@cynic




Leave a Reply

