The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Wonderful Gets Another Year Older …
December 9, 2016, 6:15 am
Filed under: Anniversary, Birthday, Daddyhood, Jill, Love, Mum & Dad, My Fatherhood, Otis, Parents

So on Sunday, my beloved little boy turns 2.

TWO!

How the hell did that happen, so quick?

It honestly feels like yesterday that he came into this World and while I love seeing him develop and grow, I do wish he would slow down a little.

One of the best/worst things has been seeing his vocabulary grow.

While I am in awe of his ability to say words – both in English and Chinese – to articulate what he wants or where he wants to go, I must admit I miss hearing the sounds he used to make before he could clearly communicate. I used to love the enthusiasm and gusto he would put behind his utterances … it was pure joy.

But on Sunday he turns 2.

He’s packed quite a lot into his life so far … from travel to hospital visits … and through it all, he’s smiled, laughed, swept and danced his way through it. Well, 94.2% through it, the rest has been screams, tantrums and looks of disappointment.

I still go through periods where I have to remind myself he’s my son and I still wish with all my heart my Mum and Dad could have met him … hugged him … kissed him.

The best compliment I can give Otis is he has changed my World.

The things I once valued no longer have the same appeal.

That doesn’t mean I don’t like those things, it’s just Otis’ happiness and development is most important of all.

The decisions I/we make are now revolving about issues we had never considered before.

Of course, that is nothing new for most parents, but for us, it’s a bit of a revelation … but it’s worth it because he is worth it.

So to my delightful son, Happy Birthday [for Sunday]

Your Mummy and Daddy love you with all our heart. Even Rosie the cat, kinda likes you.

For me, everything you do is wonderful, but when you say, “Daddy’s home” as I walk in the door, there is literally no better feeling for me in the World.

You have brought so much joy into our lives, it’s impossible for me to articulate.

We will do all we can to equip you with the skills and knowledge to handle whatever life throws at you and all we ask in return is you stay cheeky, curious and happy. Be safe knowing we will always support you in the things that excite you and move you and will love you, regardless of what trouble you cause us through the years.

But don’t push it too far …

I love you so, so much and I am so proud to be your Dad and as always, I will do all I can in my life to ensure you will be proud to call yourself, my son.

Happy birthday my darling Otis.

Rxxx

16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

happy birthday otis. thank you for making your old man less of a prick.

Comment by andy@cynic

Happy birthday for Sunday Otis. We are so happy you are well and back sweeping and dancing.

Comment by Mary Bryant

HBD Otis.

Comment by Bazza

🎂🎈👑

Comment by Billy Whizz

Hold onto these very precious monents, they go in a blink!

Comment by Neil Simpson

I like this post very much Robert. Seeing how much you love being his Dad is wonderful to witness. Happy birthday Otis.

Comment by Lee Hill

Happy birthday Otis. Good work on making your Dad a softy.

Comment by Pete

Birthday hugs to the cutest 2 year old.

Jemma xxx

Comment by Jemma King

Thanks folks … I hope one day he will come here and read these posts and comments [but only these posts, I certainly don’t want him seeing the rest of it] and see publically proud his parents were of him and how much people cared for him.

Comment by Rob

Happy birthday Otis. Only another 16 and you’ll be able to escape his clutches. Keep a diary, you’ll be able to use it in court.

Comment by John

And it will remind you how lucky you are to have parents who love you unconditionally.

Comment by John

It took you almost 9 hours to decide to be nice. Ha.

Comment by Rob

I was hacked.

Comment by John

Happy birthday Otis. You always look so adorable.

Comment by Naoko

Lovely pictures.

Rosie must have the patience of a saint. Have you told Otis that the cat’s tail is not a handle?

(And has anyone told you about ‘the terrible twos’?)

Comment by Ian Gee

The answer is yes to all of the above Ian.

I’m doomed. But not as much as Rosie is.

Comment by Rob




Leave a Reply

