The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


So This Is It …
December 15, 2016, 6:25 am
Filed under: End of Year

So 2016, for this blog at least, is now officially over.

As usual, thank you to everyone and anyone who came by to read, comment or insult … I can only assume you did it out of boredom, charity or pettiness.

To be honest, I kind of forget that people outside of the ‘usual suspects’ read my rubbish. I’m always quite surprised when someone I haven’t met says they read it. On one hand it feels nice, then I tend to go into a bit of a mild panic as I realise that some of the things I may have written could have insulted the person I was talking to.

It happened recently.

I was in Japan and met this planner from the US.

As we got talking he mentioned 2 things.

1. He read my blog.
2. He worked on the Toyota account.

Rather sheepishly I asked …

“Did you do that hot air balloon thing I slagged off?”

Of course he had. Then he told me he had even shown it to his boss.

Oh goodie.

Now of course I stand by what I said – it was utter pants – however, because I forget this blog isn’t some private [low-end] club but a place where anyone stupid enough to click can visit, I tend to express myself in slightly more sarcastic ways than I would in public.

And before anyone takes me up on that last comment – namely colleagues and clients – I did say ‘slightly more’, I am perfectly aware I can be a petty, little sod.

Anyway, he forgave me … though I think that’s mainly because he wanted a job at Wieden. And it worked, because he now resides in our NYC office and not just because he laid on the guilt trip. Well, not totally, ha.

Which just leaves me to say this …

I hope every single one of you has a great Christmas or whatever festive season you may or may not celebrate.

Get drunk. Have fun. Tell the people you love, that you love them.

And as for 2017, let’s hope it is interesting for all the right reasons, because regardless how the past 12 months have been for all us individually, the World needs some time for calm, togetherness and compassion.

Thank you again. Till next year …

16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your ability to our job candidates on the spot knows no bounds Rob. I would love to hear how the planner felt when you did that.
Have a great festive season with the family. It was great seeing you this week and safe travels home.

Comment by Pete

Rob is such an asshole.

Comment by DH

its the only time i almost like campbell.

Comment by andy@cynic

Happy holidays Rob. Thanks for not coming to cities where I could feasibly see you.

Comment by DH

thats the fucking best gift the tight fuck could ever give.

Comment by andy@cynic

i fucking dont like these new times youre posting shit campbell. it makes me feel uncomfortable and insecure. stop it. go back to the end of my day routine because there was nothing i liked more than coming to this craphole after a shit day and reading the latest bollocks youve shat out to remember it could be worse. i could be a fucking planner.

Comment by andy@cynic

I’m glad I never had to interview with you. Have a fantastic Christmas, thank you for the smiles and the thinking. I hope 2017 will be an exciting year for you. I think it will be.

Comment by George

tl:dr

Comment by John

But may I wish my many fans here a joyous holiday season.

Comment by John

High standards require tough questions. Happy holidays to you and your family Robert. Thank you for another year of thought provoking randomness. Here’s to more in 2017. I would also like to extend my festive gratitude and to all who made me laugh and think with their comments.

Comment by Lee Hill

Just checking it really was the last post of the year. Best present ever.

Comment by DH

Yep … this really is the last post of a totally shitty year.

OK, not so shitty for me, but for the World at large and I don’t want to subject them to any more pain.

Unitl 2017.

Cue: Evil laugh.

Comment by Rob

That’s never stopped you before.

Comment by Billy Whizz

[…] Billy Whizz on So This Is It … […]

Pingback by I Lied … | The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]

Merry Christmas Rob!

Comment by Cathy Wang

And to you lovely … though I thought you had more sense than to come on here, let alone comment. Ha.

Miss ya.

Comment by Rob




Leave a Reply

