The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


The Gift That Keeps On Being Held Back …

So after the big news on Friday – at least big news for me – I thought I’d start this week with evidence that while my life will be changing, this blog will remain painfully the same.

A few weeks ago, I received an email from an industry magazine – based in Asia – saying I qualified for this.

To be honest, I was kind-of excited.

I love Wired and to get it free was going to be a lovely gift.

They even highlighted I didn’t need to provide ‘credit card’ info which meant it wasn’t a scam.

Hurrah!

So I quickly clicked on the link.

All they needed was my address.

That’s it.

Yes …

And so I quickly filled in the form, pressed send and then saw this on the screen.

“THIS OFFER IS NOT AVAILABLE TO PEOPLE IN YOUR REGION”

Eh?

What?

I did it again.

Same result.

I checked the email once more.

Clicked on the link once more.

Filled in the form once more.

Same result. Every single time.

Now I appreciate it’s not Mercury Magazine’s fault as they weren’t the people who sent me the original email, but you’d think that the company who did – who, let’s remember, are based in Asia – would have checked the people in their fucking region could receive what they’re supposedly offering them.

But it appears they didn’t … which means the special place I have in my heart for them, is one of hate, rather than love.

All because they were either lazy or stupid.

It blows my mind something as basic as this could be so badly done, which should serve as reminder to everyone in the industry that if we want to regain the respect we once enjoyed, it’s about what we do rather than what we say.

23 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You could have entered the address of any one of your many worl residences. One must have been eligible.

Comment by John

You do know I rent them out don’t you … I don’t keep them empty so I can swan in when I like, they’re my bloody pension. Or I hope they will be as long as we don’t have a nuclear war between North Korea and the US.

Comment by Rob

Not a scam? Wait till IT bollock you about downloading malware.

Comment by John

He will consider that his leaving present to Wieden.

Comment by DH

Your life is one big freebie and it’s only going to get worse in America. I’m so depressed.

Comment by DH

Awesome. Thank you. Hahaha.

Comment by Rob

Wouldn’t this offer be considered bribery?

Comment by Bazza

Or torture.

Comment by Bazza

you fucking whiner.

Comment by andy@cynic

What is it the Aussies say about the British …

“How can you tell when a plane from England has landed in Sydney? The engines stop but the whining continues”.

Comment by Rob

and as for your fucking news from friday. canadian passport applications have gone through the fucking roof.

Comment by andy@cynic

Isn’t Jill Canadian?

Comment by George

fuck.

Comment by andy@cynic

When it’s about pissing off others, he’s always one step ahead.

Comment by DH

hes the fucking nsa of pricks.

Comment by andy@cynic

Mexico’s nice this time of year.

Comment by John

So is Otis …

You can run, but you cannot hide.

Comment by Rob

now you even sound like fucking trump.

Comment by andy@cynic

Too many good ideas are ruined by not enough thinking.

Comment by George

Giving Rob a free magazine is not a good idea.

Comment by John

Am I being presumptuous saying this is what happens when you use a US based fulfilment company?

Comment by Lee Hill

Or in this case, an unfulfilment company.

Comment by Ian Gee

Also known as a social media agency.

Comment by DH




Leave a Reply

