The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Taking The Piss, Literally …

I survived my first July 4th.

To be honest, it wasn’t that difficult given it was basically spending the day eating hamburgers wrapped in stars and stripes napkins.

In fact, I’m quite looking forward to next years already.

Anyway, when I lived in Sydney, there was this myth about someone called ‘trough boy’.

The legend goes that during the Mardi Gras festival, he would wrap himself in clingfilm, lie in the trough of pub urinal and beg people to piss all over him.

I never found out if it was true, but I bring this up because recently – while seeing George at Google – I saw this in their toilets. [Sorry, I mean ‘bathrooms’]

Now you might be wondering what I’m talking about – and I accept it’s not nearly as cool as the million other posts I’ve written about toilets – but what struck me was the high level of branding on this anti-splash toilet aid.

OK, so it works on a similar principal to the ‘fly’ that a Swedish airport painted on their urinals so men would aim their piss at it rather than let it fly all over the place [which was costing them a fortune in cleaning bills] but I must admit seeing their brand name proudly embossed on their product feels strange.

Actually scrap that, what feels weird is their name/logo looks like it suits a tech company more than a hygiene company … which says more about my prejudices than it does about them.

And so I decided to look into them and found out AirWorks is a product, not a brand and it’s made by a company called Hospeco who – if you look at their website – have an image much more in keeping with what I would imagine them to be.

And where am I going with all this?

Well, as normal, nowhere except to say in a world where brands are absolutely petrified of incurring any negative commentary from society, imagine being a brand where your objective is to literally have society piss on you.

If that wouldn’t lead to the greatest creative work ever, I don’t know what would.

20 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That is quite the return Robert. I sincerely hope troughboy is an urban legend.

Comment by Lee Hill

A quick google reveals troughman was an Australian.

Comment by John

of course he was an aussie, campbell says that in his bollocks. though i like the way you are doubting every word he says. smart fucking move.

Comment by andy@cynic

I could be pedantic here, but that would be out of character.

Comment by John

why the fuck didnt some antiseptic brand sponsor the perv? no fucking vision in marketing these days.

Comment by andy@cynic

You’ve still got it.

Comment by DH

Website says they’re available in “our most popular scents” – could you tell?

Comment by John

the scent of stale piss seems to be their best fucking seller then.

Comment by andy@cynic

the issue is did america survive your first 4th july. judging by the state of the city i woke up too, the answer is no.
youre more dangerous to the world than a tinpot dictator sat in north korea with his finger on the button of a fisher price rocket.

Comment by andy@cynic

It was a massive beer pong party for my block yesterday. The spirit of American freedom.

Comment by DH

USA
USA
USA
USA
USA
USA
USA
USA

Comment by Billy Whizz

fucktard.

Comment by andy@cynic

Don’t worry, I basically spent the day working. Yes, WORKING! I know … who am I. On the bright side, why would I want to celebrate a day where my home nation had its arse kicked. Though the neighbors were very friendly in their victory.

Comment by Rob

Your version of work is not the same as everyone else’s version of work.

Comment by DH

Judging by the amount of people I saw drinking last night, Hospeco are going to have a great sales month.

Comment by Pete

Yes … we walked down to the beach in the evening and the smell of drunk people was incredible.

Comment by Rob

Did it make you homesick?

Comment by DH

I am traumatized by trough man.

Comment by George

You could be trough man for tech nerds. Think about it.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Baz would be better for that. He’s trough sized.

Comment by DH




Leave a Reply

