The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Finally …
September 18, 2017, 6:15 am
Filed under: A Bit Of Inspiration, Attitude & Aptitude, Comment, Daddyhood, Family, Fatherhood, Insight

3 days after I arrived in the US, I ordered a new car.

This was momentous for a bunch of reasons.

1. It was only the 2nd car I’d ever bought.
2. It was the first car I was going to have after 15 years.

Of course, because I’m a sad bastard, I wanted all the gadgets in it which meant I’ve had to sit on my hands for 4 months while the bloody thing was built for me.

That might not sound much, but for an only child, that is like being sent to Guantanamo Bay.

Well, after driving Jill mad with continual ‘Youtube video car review’ watching [hey, what can I say, I was really excited about getting it], it’s finally arrived.

Actually, to be specific, it arrived earlier last week but typical of karma getting her own back on me, I was away so couldn’t get to it.

I cannot tell you how hard that was for me. Yeah, I know, it’s a first world problem but it was still bloody painful.

Well, not I’ve got it, I am beside myself with joy.

Every time I look at it I smile a massive smile.

Part of that is because I can’t believe it is mine mainly because I don’t think I deserve it.

OK, so you probably feel I don’t deserve it either, but what I actually mean is that deep down, I don’t feel I should ever be in a position to own such a car. I’m not trying to act humble or anything, it’s just that when I think of my parents – both of whom were smarter and better humans than me – they could never of had such a thing so the fact I can reinforces both how lucky I am and how unfair things are for others.

To be honest, this feeling is one of the reasons I insisted we get Jill a new, new car.

Without going into too much, she’s had a bunch of hardship in her life [and I don’t just mean being married to me] so being in a position to get her something she never thought she would ever have, gave me incredibly happiness.

Of course the ultimate revenge is the fact that the moment you drive a new car out of a dealership, it is worth a good deal less than you paid for it, but what some fail to realise is buying a new car isn’t about practicality but emotion.

I’m not even talking about it in terms of materialism or status … for me, I’m talking about it in terms of being a proper adult.

Well, as ‘proper an adult’ as I’ll ever be.

I appreciate that sounds wank – and it probably is – but now I have a family, a car lets me feel I’m able to do my bit for them.

To take them on adventures.

To let us be more spontaneous.

To just go out and explore more easily.

I get many of you will think this is all an excuse designed to try and justify my choice of car – and maybe I’m kidding myself and this is simply a case of me wanting to have a car, especially when I’m living in the city of cars – but I really feel this will fundamentally change the life we are living here in a great way and that excites me hugely.

Let’s just hope I don’t crash the bloody thing …

29 Comments so far
Leave a comment

yeah, you bought a fucking 70k wankmobile for your families happiness. you keep fucking telling yourself that. twat.

Comment by andy@cynic

If it was for the family then why did he want all the gadgets?

Comment by DH

They’re all safety features. Kinda.

Comment by Rob

What does that make your cars Andrew?

Comment by George

it says i have fucking amazing taste.

Comment by andy@cynic

and no campbell, you don’t deserve it. jill and otis do but you absofuckinglutely dont.

Comment by andy@cynic

Rob seems to have forgotten people who know him read this blog.

Comment by DH

Bet Rob tells Jill and Otis his car is their christmas present.

Comment by Billy Whizz

Brilliant idea.

Comment by Rob

It’s a beautiful car Rob, but it’s your car.

Comment by George

Perfectly put George.

Comment by Lee Hill

Out of curiosity, do you think that a car is as emotional a purchase in the US as it might be in other countries? I’m not suggesting that there is a complete lack but do wonder whether there might be a difference in degree. When I lived in the US, I remember being struck by how a lot of people use / treat cars as though they are consumable commodities, like a roll of bog paper. That said, if they were thinking with their heads, they wouldn’t be buying the crap coming out of Detroit. OK, never mind…

Comment by Chikashi

I think it depends where you are in the US. LA might have clogged up highways but the choice of car is closer to how you choose jewelry than a car. Nice to see Rob is becoming so acclimatized to LA life so quickly.

Comment by George

Also, as far as I know, the US is the only major market in which cars are routinely included in assessing the size of the luxury goods market. Yeah, so, never mind…

Comment by Chikashi

A man moves countries because of the pollution and straight away buys a car. Well done.

Comment by Franky

Yep, fair point. I have no defense for that except not having a car for almost 20 years so will claim ‘pollution credit’ for all the errrrrm, clean living I’ve done.

OK, even I can’t convince myself of that one.

Comment by Rob

i dont know who franky is but i fucking love them.

Comment by andy@cynic

I’m happy that you’re happy.

On another note: I had the same car as a rental recently. When I saw it for the first time, I was like: Why have car rental companies have to get Audis in fucking blue. Well, Europcar apparently are not the only ones…haha.

And on a 2nd note: With all that healthy LA lifestyle, shouldn’t you be driving a Tesla or at least BMW i3?

Or did you get a Diesel and now just wanna sue the hell out of the German automotive industry so you never have to work again?

Comment by Seb

He only chose blue to appear less evil than his usual blackness. It won’t work.

Comment by DH

Nice to see me buying a car is pulling everybody who used to insult me on this blog, back to insult me on this blog, hahaha.

You seem to think that because I live in ‘healthy LA’, I should suddenly be a kale smoothie eating, lycra-wearing nutcase. Well apart from the fact no one wants to see me in that outfit [though it would make my birkenstocks look a whole lot less bad] … the reality is LA isn’t all that healthy so I’m blending in with the real peeps, not the elite. Ahem.

And as for a Telsa or i3, apart from the fact they cost more money than god [even more so when you add in all the bollocks I’d want in them] … when I looked into them, the waiting time made my Audi seem like it came in the blink of an eye.

And come on it’s a nice blue … especially in the LA sunshine.

Comment by Rob

Rob. Champagne tastes. Diet coke pockets.

Comment by DH

Diet Coke? Tab is da shit.

Comment by Chikashi

Blue has a significance in LA that has been overlooked. Be careful which blocks you drive on.

Comment by John

They really get you with that depreciation don’t they! 😄🤷‍♂️

Comment by Opinionated Man

P.J. O’Rourke described what you’ve bought as a ‘Sport Futility Vehicle’.

Comment by Ian Gee

Congratulations, Robert.

Comment by Marcus

Enjoy it, enjoy it all

Comment by northern

You deserve everything coming to you

Comment by northern

That BBH campaign from 1982 evidently made a lasting impression on you, Rob. “Vorsprung Durch Technik”

Comment by fredrik sarnblad




Leave a Reply

