The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Proof Amsterdam Is Full Of Drug Taking Loons …
October 11, 2017, 6:15 am
Filed under: A Bit Of Inspiration, Agency Culture, Culture

A few weeks ago, the MD of Wieden+Kennedy Amsterdam – the insanely smart, kind and horribly handsome – Blake Harrop sent me a cryptic note saying he needed my home address.

OK, it wasn’t that cryptic because he basically said, ‘can I have your home address’ … but it was still a bit weird. And lovely.

To be honest, I’d forgotten about it until I came home late and found a package marked “sculpture” on the dining table.

Despite thinking it was quite likely to be a letter bomb, I opened it up and found this …

Yes, I know it’s fucking hideous, but it’s also beautiful because it’s a clog that has been carved to look like a Birkenstock that is also an iPhone stand.

That’s right, if I was a one-legged weirdo, I could use it to hop outside ANNNNNNND store my iPhone in it.

But that’s not the total mad thing – though I accept the fact this this actually exists, is pretty bonkers – it’s the fact it was a present from the very lovely nutters at Wieden+Kennedy Amsterdam, specifically planning amazeballs Maria and the wonderfully brilliant ECD, Eric.

Why?

Because they are beautiful people and have utterly alarming taste. Or should I say know I have utterly alarming taste.

Anyway I absolutely adore it and it is another reminder how special Wieden is as a company, partly because of who they have in the company …, even if to most folks out there, this would be a declaration of war or the most insulting way to say you didn’t get the job.

Thank you my beautiful fools over in the dam, I love it.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Maybe they’ve hidden drugs in the shoe? That would be a gift.

Comment by Billy Whizz

when the fuck did wieden get so fucking stupid? oh i know, after you worked for them.

Comment by andy@cynic

#Fact

Comment by Rob

you know theyre calling you fucking ridiculous dont you campbell?

Comment by andy@cynic

Yes … but compared to what they could be calling me, I’ll take it.

Comment by Rob

To buy a present for Rob means WK Ams must have a dealer with awesome mind altering product.

Comment by DH

Nice thought but a bad decision.

Comment by DH

I think they are coming to that conclusion as I type.

Comment by Rob

Weren’t you there for 7 years? If they didn’t work it out then, they aren’t as clever as everyone thinks they are.

Comment by DH

They really liked you didn’t they. Why?

Comment by Bazza

comedy relief.

Comment by andy@cynic

More likely, he distracted the overlords’ attention and that meant the rest of them could get away with all sorts of mischief.

Comment by John




Leave a Reply

