The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word …
October 29, 2007, 9:18 am
Filed under: Comment

So after years and years and years of using SONY Ericsson, I followed up on my promise and bought this …

nokia-n95-8gb

It’s full of cool features, has a great screen and more importantly has a REAL keypad – however I do have to say it’s not nearly as user friendly as SONY Ericsson phones, though I guess I’ll get used to it. I’ll have to, or Jill will karate chop me in the nuts.

It’s weird, I feel like I’m turning my back on an old friendΒ – I mean how stupid is that – however I can’t shake this feeling that I hope SONY Ericsson work out their ‘external aesthetic design quirks’ so I can go back to where I belong.

And they say brand loyalty is dying … haha!

[Are you happy now Connie, Seb and Charles?Β  You can thank me for helping you get your huge [impending] bonus when I see you!]


72 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congratulations on finally coming over to the ‘bright’ side πŸ˜‰

Comment by Connie

It might of been a smoother journey if you’d paid for it!

Comment by Rob

Oh and congrats for finally writing a comment on here Connie … your job move has obviously made you far more opinionated than I managed to make you πŸ™‚

Comment by Rob

My first mobile phone was a Nokia. I love Nokia phones and up until about May this year I would only use Nokia mobile phones. That’s 12 years loyal custom.

Then I need a new one. Walk into the shop determined to get another Nokia.

Walk out with a Sony.

Comment by The Kaiser

Wanna swap?

Comment by Rob

Nope.

Comment by The Kaiser

Thats so much nicer than the “cheap silver” colour Nokia has on most things over here.

Comment by Rob Mortimer

I bet you feel slightly dirty the entire time you have that phone.

I didn’t mean to, but I fell in love with a Blackberry Pearl and am now being forced to get a Sony Ericsson. I feel muddy. What one should I get?

Comment by Angus

Blackberry? Blackberry? I’d rather have a than one of those.

Now as for SONY Ericsson – what do you want to do with it [apart from make calls]? Do you need 3G or are you cool with just a good phone without speedy internet access?

I should charge for this advice shouldn’t I!

Comment by Rob

Not if you’re going to sledge Blackberry Pearls! Pearls are far superior to standard Blackberries simply because they look purty. Very purty. And it was quite simply the best phone I’ve ever used.

3G please. And it has to look purty.

Comment by Angus

Nice to see you are living upto the female stereotype there Angus, haha!

Interms of a 3G SONY Ericsson phone that’s also pretty, errrrrm, what about the ultra slim W880i? But try and hang in there a little longer as the upgrade model is coming out soon and it’s much better spec’d.

PS: How the hell do you know Charlie Berges? Are you stalking me? First BJ, now Charlie – you’ll be saying you know my Mum next πŸ™‚

Comment by Rob

I’m in touch with my feminine side, what can I say. It’s the way forward.

Charlie and I worked in Sydney together at a WPP mental institution. I love her because she once cleaned up Liz Kim’s vomit in my apartment quicker than I could say ‘that fucking stinks’.

I had a brandy and dry with your mum yesterday. She told me ALL about the bedwetting…

Comment by Angus

Oh, and thanks, I’ll look into the upgrade…

Comment by Angus

I bet your impression of Charlie will change when I tell you we used to go out.

Mind you, you shouldn’t be too surprised given you already know how good she is at sorting out disgusting messes.

Comment by Rob

So my Mum thinks the betwetting episodes are over does she?

Bless … hahahahaha!

Comment by Rob

i love you angus..

Comment by lauren

You would! Bitch πŸ™‚

Comment by Rob

By the way Angus, I love the way you put Liz’s FULL NAME – make sure everyone knows exactly who was to blame.

Well done, I’m very proud of you!

Comment by Rob

Plastic sheets can help maintain a relationship Rob – embrace them.

Poor, poor, poor, poor, sweet, innocent Charlie.

Likewise Lauren – get back over here.

Comment by Angus

This may help Robert:

http://www.depend.com/

Comment by The Kaiser

huge bonus? you mean you’ll get me a new nokia phone as well? toppischloppi. and I am really wondering how you always get me into that nokia kind of stuff because on the one hand I don’t work on nokia and on the other hand I am not even a permanent here. oh and by the way I have a Samsung X820, the fucking thinnest mobile on this planet. but my next will be a nokia again…

Comment by Seb

Thank you Marcus and Angus – very useful advice, I’ll be sure to follow it when I become an 80 year old gimp!

And Seb, I always get you onto Nokia – despite not working on the account and not [yet] being permanent – because I am a planner, or better known as the puppet master and you my dear German friend, are my toy!

Does that answer your question?

Comment by Rob

Flachpfeife.
Vollpfosten.
ask Marcus what it means.

Comment by Seb

Don’t fucking drag me into this Sebastian.

Comment by The Kaiser

you should maybe rethink calling other males toy…

Comment by Seb

oops, schuldigung Sir.

Comment by Seb

It’s a sad day when I am insulted in German – come on man, tell me, I can take it.

Comment by Rob

he called you an idiot rob, i wouldn’t worry about it. andy insults you worse in english

Comment by lauren

I’ve been called far worse by people who are far more frightening than either Seb or Andy could ever hope to be πŸ™‚

Comment by Rob

I like you so I only use insults that are not that bad.
But it’s nice that you think an Australian girl that hardly speaks some German (but that quite well, sorry Omi) could translate German insults that are far more harder to translate into English than so easy one as Arschloch, Wichser, Schwanzlutscher oder Fick dich…

Comment by Seb

Sebastian!

Comment by The Kaiser

I’m just one of those positive, optimistic kinda guys … πŸ™‚

Comment by Rob

And even swear words in foreign languages need a πŸ™‚ … we have standards to maintain!

Comment by Rob

Is it a bank holiday Monday in the UK, or are you bored with WK already Seb?

Comment by The Kaiser

Marcus, your writing sounds like my mum and dad. Lovely.
Oh and sorry Mrs C… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Comment by Seb

And Rob, what standards exactly are that…?

Comment by Seb

Marcus, I though that maybe once a month I can contribute to this blog…and no I don’t have enough time to write own posts or comment a lot…but thanks I thought you would like the fact that I am back at least for a day…no meetings today…cheers, you Droemel.

Comment by Seb

Bengel!

Comment by The Kaiser

Luemmel.

Comment by Seb

No, Saupreiss…though not even that. Sauangelsachs.

Comment by Seb

Sauerei!

Comment by The Kaiser

Look I know this isn’t going to go down well with Nokia but the N95 is a slug and precocious with it. I’ve got a post brewing about it and if yours is as reliable as the ones Europe and American seem to be using, you’re going to be cussing that N95 a lot.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you. On FB too !!

N96 is looking sexy though. (Black does work for me)

Comment by Charles Frith

I’m going Nokia E Series next. It’s a proper Bizniz man’s phone. I’m living the dream ! πŸ™‚

Comment by Charles Frith

..and I’m sure you bought the N95 AFTER I told you it was a turkey on Facebook so that you could stick the boot in. I know your ways Mr Campbell.

Comment by Charles Frith

You should have get the N93. That’s the best.

Comment by Seb

Shouldn’t have had your bloody phone stolen in the first place.

Comment by The Kaiser

You’ve seen right through me Charles – I DID buy it after your cautionary note and already I’m finding some things about the phone less than complimentary.

Everyone goes on about how NOKIA makes sense … but it doesn’t, and its not just because I have to get used to a new system.

Without doubt SONY Ericsson is more intuitive and maybe Nokia should have a look at how they organise their systems.

I’ll give it a fair go [Jill would kill me if I spent ANOTHER fortune on ANOTHER phone] but at this moment an SE is looking like it’ll be the next phone – even if this does have cool GPS and stuff.

On behalf of everyone Charles, thank you for making the future posts of this blog interesting – driven by an anger induced by N95 madness πŸ™‚

Comment by Rob

Am I the only person who still thinks that a phone is something you make calls with?

Comment by Marcus

You’re a “Champagne technologist” Campbell. That’s what you are.

Comment by Marcus

No Marcus … I think what you’ll find I am is a technology VICTIM!

Comment by Rob

stockholm syndrome!

Comment by Marcus

Given I’ve just bought a Nokia, shouldn’t that be Finnish Fever?

Comment by Rob

that sounds like some dodgy Euro-metal that Fred might have on his iPod.

Comment by Marcus

You’re right … he has all their hit.

Comment by Rob

Is the N95 as flimsy and badly made as every recent Nokia i’ve considered?

I hope Nokia start getting their act together soon. They used to be such great phones but they have totally lost their way.

Comment by Rob Mortimer

I remember that you could open beer bottles with the 3100. Well build phone it was…

Comment by Seb

I can do that with my SE too seb.

Comment by Marcus

why are you both trying to use your phones to open beer bottles – isn’t that what bottle-openers are for? and seb, you’re dead meat kiddo.

Comment by lauren

Listen Brown, if Rob can use his bloody phone as a GPS, I can bloody well use mine as a bottle opener.

Comment by Marcus

I wouldn’t want to be working on the N95 account right now. Who does it now?

…oh yeah. Lowe Worldwide.

Where’s Word of mouth Will when ya need him πŸ™‚

Comment by Charles Frith

hahaha! Good call Frith.

Comment by Marcus

listen brown, you’re damned right. enjoy your beer and stop bitching about only using phones to make calls.

Comment by lauren

And they say focus groups are a waste of time!

Comment by John

Theres really no perfect phone brand out there though:

SE – Too overdesigned, sometimes irritating functionality
Nokia – Usually look rubbish, generally feel cheaply made.
Samsung – Horrible usability
Motorola – Even worse usability, over rely on RAZR design
Sharp – Nice well specced (I shall vouch) phones but they seem to make about one model a year
Apple – Too much for too little

Ah well…

Comment by Rob Mortimer

without wishing to be rude, but does anyone give a flying fuck? πŸ™‚

Comment by andy@cynic

I’m just in the fucking mood for you Boucher.

Comment by Marcus

Holy crap…

The N95 = buggiest software. ever.

But then again most symbian s60 phones are.

Fact

Comment by adlads

Kiss my sweet shaven ass Campbell

http://charlesfrith.blogspot.com/2007/10/kiss-my-sweet-ass.html

Comment by Charles Frith

Hello Mr Adlads, not seen you around these parts before but you’re still welcome despite confirming I’ve been a tool supporting the Finnish fishing industry with my purchase of the Nokia N95. Come back soon, I’m sure there’s plenty of other things you can point out that I’ve been pissing my money down the drain on πŸ™‚

Charles, there is only one thing more alarming than knowing I’ve purchased a technological ‘lemon’ and that’s the thought of your SHAVEN ass … please don’t put that image in my mind again.

Thank you.

Comment by Rob

I thought that would upset you. Bumfluff in the post πŸ™‚

Comment by Charles Frith

Fuck, I’ve just been advised that now to get email to my phone I might have to get a Palm Treo!! Das ist nicht gut. Do I go for that or forego email and get the W880i? Advice please. I miss my BB Pearl….

Comment by Angus

Angus you def don’t want to get a Treo, why not a newer BB?

Mr Campbell, I will return often, not just to lampoon your technological choices, although I may do that sometimes as well, they tell me it’s because of the pills. πŸ™‚

Sam

Comment by adlads




Leave a Reply