The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]


Newton’s Law Of Motion 2.0
March 18, 2013, 6:13 am
Filed under: Comment

As I wrote a couple of years ago, every good thing has the potential of a dark side.

That doesn’t mean it should be stopped or banned, just viewed with the acknowledgement that those who speak loudest don’t necessarily represent either the majority or the truth.

Social media should be regarded as a starting point for exploration, not an end point for judgement … but sadly, in this fast-moving, instant gratification, convenience based society [encouraged by an ad industry that almost universally favours speed over quality, hype over substance and money over value] my views might be totally outdated.

Let’s face it, I am old, I am cynical and I am overly sentimental.


25 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I could tell you about old.
But, I won’t.
I will, however, fully endorse this post.

Comment by Ciaran McCabe

Is that because you’ve already forgotten what you wanted to say?

Comment by DH

That’s supposed to be a joke but it was much funnier when it was in my head. Sorry.

Comment by DH

Hi Ciaran … it’s not old, it’s experienced.

How about that for a repositioning?

Now, when are you going to write a piece for me on why CDP [?] were so good when you worked for them?!

Comment by Rob

How about a creative department variously comprised of Colin Millward, John Salmon, Alan Waldie, Mike Cozens, Neil Godfrey, Tony Brignull, Ridley Scott, David Horry (now retired here in Shanghai), Alfredo Marcantonio, Paul Weiland, Alan Parker, Robin Wight, Charles Saatchi & Ross Cramer.
Throw in a few suits, too: John Pearce, Frank Lowe, David Puttnam …

Does that clarify things a bit for you, Rob?

Comment by Ian Gee

Yes, that works for me.

What might help for people who think creativity only started when digital started, I say this:

http://tinyurl.com/ylls38p

Though, for those who think creativity only existed pre-1989, I say this:

http://tinyurl.com/yfypgtb

It’s a crazy, weird, mixed-up World isn’t it.

Comment by Rob

Someone told me twitter acts like it’s full of 5 year old italians boys with too much caffeine in their blood. Sounds about right.

Comment by DH

Which is why this is such a good story.

http://tinyurl.com/ccgpzf5

Comment by Bazza

That’s awesome. I bet the guy was shitting himself. Like Rob when he met that australian swimmer “icon” he hated.

Comment by DH

Dawn Fraiser. But he met a member of her family, not her.

Love the boxer story.

Comment by Pete

That has made my day. Thanks for the heads up Baz.

Comment by George

Oh I absolutely love that!

Comment by Rob

“Social media should be regarded as a starting point for exploration, not an end point for judgement.” Well said.

Comment by Bazza

Not according to many digital planners or marketing managers. Their view (and KPI’s) is limited to the acquisition of likes and shares.

Comment by Pete

In many cases, it is not social media, it’s social screaming and brands undermine their position by spending all their time either praising or appeasing them. That’s not brand leadership, that’s brand fear.

Comment by George

Excellent point George. Sure, listening to society is very, very important but immediately changing direction just because it upset some loud mouths, undermines the whole premise of a brand POV.

Comment by Rob

This is very timely for me Robert. If you don’t mind, I will steal this. Thank you.

Comment by Lee Hill

Sure, I nicked it off someone too.

Well, when I say ‘nicked it’, I mean I repurposed it for educational reasons. Ahem.

Comment by Rob

truth in your words, but unfortunately way too many NON-rational people all around us these days who does not want to think, evaluate and come to decision rather are willing for somebody else to make that decision for them.. and there are smartasses all over the political and economical scene who are more than willing to make decisions for them through easy manipulation. phucked up world we are living in.

Comment by Ali Hasanov

Hi Ali, thanks for writing. I suppose there is a counter-argument here which is if people are willing to allow ‘smartasses’ to make their decisions for them, they’re as much to blame as anyone else.

What do you think?

Comment by Rob

i logged on to facebook today for the first time in fuck knows how long and someone needs to tell wieden they got it wrong, its not like a chair, its no way near as fucking interesting as that.

Comment by andy@cynic

Gold.

Comment by DH

That news is worthy of an overreaction.

Comment by Pete

I mean that you logged on facebook.

Comment by Pete

Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
Is it very difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Appreciate it

Comment by handy golden retrievers puppies stuff




Leave a Reply